An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Match Light® Charcoal with Mesquite

(52 Reviews)
  • Previous
  • Next
  • 100% Natural Ingredients
  • Made in the USA with North American Ingredients
  • Ready to Cook On In 10 Minutes
  • More Edges for Faster Lighting*

Kingsford® Match Light® Charcoal with Mesquite combines the bold, smoky flavor of high-quality mesquite with the ease and convenience of Match Light®. The briquets are infused with just the right amount of lighter fluid, so they light fast and stay lit. Just fire up the briquets with a match, and be ready to cook in 10 minutes, no extra lighter fluid necessary. Made in the USA with North American ingredients, this charcoal is also made with same quality ingredients as Kingsford® Original. Match Light® with Mesquite is the perfect way to infuse your food with the mouth-watering smoke that grillers crave. Available in a variety of sizes, from 4-lb. to 12-lb. bags.

Pairs Well With This Recipe

Memphis Barbecue Dry Ribs

All great Memphis BBQ ribs feature paprika and garlic, and this recipe is no different. With 8 additional seasonings and Kingsford® Signature Flavors, these dry ribs are full of flavor whether you’re cooking on a charcoal or pellet grill.

Get the Recipe
Learn

How to Arrange Charcoal Before Grilling

Discover the best ways to grill and smoke using Kingsford® Charcoal Briquets. We’ll show you how much charcoal you should be using to achieve the right grilling temperature, and techniques to use for different types of food. It’s easy — just follow along.

Learn How
Reviews
4.0
52 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband’s favorite charcoal. My husband’s favorite charcoal. Lights quickly and easily! No waste, since you’re lighting the bag & burning it all.
Date published: 2021-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to Quick and easy to use. Lights right with no lighter fluid needed. The fire stays lit even when you want it gone lol. I have never had a problem with starting up a fire. I will be purchasing soon.
Date published: 2021-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This would have to This would have to be our favorite go to for charcoal, the smell when you light the pit is so good, you just know you’re food flavor is going to be fire.
Date published: 2021-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please note this review Please note this review will be copy and pasted for each Kingsford review as I feel the same way about each of them: I wish I could say this is the best or greatest for more product related reasons, but frankly I’ve never tried another charcoal brand a day in my life... This brand is not “just a brand.” It’s a family heirloom or inheritance. There are memories before I had words associated with it— when I see Kingsford, I see uncles standing by the grill. I picture my aunts cooking sides in the kitchen. I think of running around the yard with siblings and cousins. Later in life, it’s the sound of glasses clinking CHEERS! Celebrating friends and their children. Celebrating achievements. Enjoying Summer. Making an excuse to cook for loved ones. And I’ve happened to luck out that it actually works and does what it says it will do.
Date published: 2021-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoy this brand I enjoy this brand excited really ever after use lighter fluid and starts very quickly and stays lit for long time Foreign improve the product our primate the price low but cheaper maybe
Date published: 2021-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to take for Great to take for a picnic. Font have to take charcoal lighter. Starts well and burns well too
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best there is. The best there is. Delivers perfect steak chicken hamburgers hot dogs n grilled veggies. Easy n convenient to use
Date published: 2021-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using this high Been using this high quality affordable charcoal for a long time. I love that it can bonds quick match with the mystique flavor. This is a good long burning charcoal that will get your grilled foods just right. I recommend this to anyone who uses charcoal grill! I'll continue purchasing this product into the future
Date published: 2021-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best! These are the best! When I grill these are my go to. Love kingsford charcoal. They are easy to light and stay lit.
Date published: 2021-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the Smokey I love the Smokey mesquite flavor ! Reminds me of the campfire makes every bbq even better
Date published: 2021-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Matchlight? HA! I purchased a bag of Matchlight Mesquite yesterday, June 14. Thought I would see how well it works so today I TRIED to light a single piece of this product and the result after 20 matches is:see attached photo. I'm going to purchase a propane torch and see if I can get this junk burning.
Date published: 2019-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst grilling experience Ever I bought this Matchlight Mesquite product this Saturday at HEB Grocery store for grilling for the Labor Day Holiday Beach side in Corpus Christi, Texas. This was the worst charcoal I have ever experienced. I could not get it to light. I even put paper towels and eventually a brown paper bag under the coals to light. It would not light even with after the entire paper bag burned up. I gave up and never got to grill with family. ended up eating out. THIS iS THE WORST PRODUCT. DO NOT WASTE YOUR 7 DOLLARS on ot. Frustrated in Texas.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i had a bag of the charcole and it would not light and it was a bag of instant light
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality product I bought this product three times over the last month at different retailers. Each time resulted in the following, using lighter fluid to light the coals because they were difficult to light. Also, the fire doesn't last long, in fact the coals would burn out around 20 minutes after start up( yes with lighter fluid) after today, im leaning away from Kingsford due to quality.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KINGSFORD! CHARCOAL FOR LIFE I buy Kingsford Charcoal all the time and will for the rest of my life. #Charcoal for Life
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT This is my favorite charcoal but i am finding it harder and harder to find in my area! Can I buy it direct? Can you lead me to a place where I can find it?
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 Poor Performances for Matchlight Mesquite I bought a bag and used it for 2 grillings one week apart. The first was pork tenderloin and the second was tuna steak. Both times briquettes lit readily and turned white within 10~15 minutes. However, both times heat production was very low and coals actually went out halfway through cooking. This required me to remove food from grill and complete cooking in a pan on the stove. In contrast, regular Matchlight (non-mesquite) works perfectly every time.
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no this is the second time I have bought mesquite match light and it has not worked at all. will not catch fire I am not a happy camper please fix this
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad charcoal I bought a bag of the Mesquite charcoal the first I used it lit up and then after waiting for it to turn white it never did. Then tonight 9-13-15 I used it again thinking it was just something wrong with me again I did what it said on the back of instructions again it never turn white so I could cook. I have used the regular Kingsford charcoal with no problem. Maybe they had a bad batch, number on package M2143160002.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not light as regular MatchLight I could not get the briquettes to light. I ended up having to supplement with regular MatchLight briquettes. Once lit the flavor of our chicken was quite nice, will use it again but would be best if I did not have to pull two bags out using regular MatchLight to get the Mesquite briquettes started.
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from what happened always use kingsford I love kingsford but the last 3 bags I bought burnt out way to fast I use it for smoking - grilling and im good most of the time for 1.5- 2 hour with what I put in but the few bags burn out within 45 min to 1 hr have you changed something
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I do not generally complain but I can't avoid it this time. This product was a complete waste of money. Took 30 Mins and a trip back to the store to purchase lighter fluid. Looks like we are sticking with the store brand. Half the price and hasn't failed yet!!
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome stuff I bought this charcoal and didn't use anything else since I did. love the stuff
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ready fast we use nothing but match light because its the best
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Subpar I have purchased 4 bags of this charcoal over the last year, and not 1 time did it light. However, I can purchase off brand and it lights with no problems every time. It is not a great experience when you go to light matchlight charcoal only to have to stop and head back to the store for lighter fluid. Anyone who prefers the ease of match light charcoal, I recommend buying off brand. Great job kingsford on making a more expensive product that is subpar
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from they keep coming back! I cook very often on my smoker, living at the lake, these weekend people seem to always come back for more. got to be the charcoal! thanks KINGSFORD.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for long periods of time Its a good product as long as you dont want cook more then 2 hours. I used it to smoke some baby back ribs and the fire went out after 2 1/2 hours. Not very happy. I used the whole 6 pound bag. Ended up on the gas grill. Ribs did not turn out that good. I've used the regular ones and I was able to go 4 hours. Wont use the hickory charcoal any more.
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cooking if you can find them! This is my favorite product. It is just so darn hard to find these in any store were I live! Out side of that MMM Good cooking!
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I think that these are the best and easiest charcoals to use. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect i love this product adds a great flavor to what ever im grilling
Date published: 2011-08-07
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_7, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 158.25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.