An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Charcoal with Mesquite

(190 Reviews)
  • Previous
  • Next
  • 100% Natural Ingredients
  • Ready to Cook On in 15 Minutes
  • Long Burn Time*
  • Made in the USA with North American Ingredients

Enhance your favorite grilled foods with the bold smoky flavor of real mesquite wood. Kingsford® Charcoal with Mesquite is made in the USA with North American ingredients, and transforms beef and vegetables with authentic wood smoke taste. And like Kingsford® Original Charcoal, it lights fast and burns longer than competitive brands. Available in a variety of sizes, from 4-lb. to 16-lb. bags.

† Compared to the leading store brand charcoal in the U.S.A.
Pairs Well with this recipe

Cerveza Beef Fajitas

Mexican lager tops off the flavor of this fajita marinade, while a mix of grilled veggies and guacamole provide the popular garnishes everyone craves.

Get the Recipe
Learn

How to grill salmon

If you’ve never tried to prepare salmon on a charcoal grill, now’s the time to try it. A cedar plank and charcoal grilling add a delicious element of flavor to this popular, omega-rich catch. You’ll be surprised at how easy it is — let’s get started!

Learn How
Reviews
4.6
190 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This kingsford charcoal with mesquite is what everyone needs to use when grilling out! It gives the meat a nice smokey taste. It doesn’t take very long to burn and can be bought at your local grocery store.
Date published: 2023-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Meat In my house well grill most of our food. Kingsford Charcoal with Mesquite make for some delicious meat!! We make ribs, chicken, bbq and an amazing tenderloin with this mesquite charcoal. The smokey flavor stands out and gets everyone talking. Its easy to use and gives your food the flavor boost to stand out and show off, we love it!!
Date published: 2023-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect flavor for steaks When grilling steaks I like using Mesquite, they leave a different flavor which makes it delicious. Sometimes I mix charcoal and mesquite and omg the flavor is incredible.
Date published: 2023-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only kind I use I'm from the southwest so I used mesquite wood a lot growing up. I like that there's a product out there that allows me to still use mesquite here in the Midwest where I live. It works great in the chimney that I have and it imparts mesquite flavor to the chicken whenever I grill it.
Date published: 2023-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I liked this charcoal but it wasn’t my absolute favorite. My boyfriend really liked it though. It definitely helps give certain foods you cook on the grill a more enhanced Smokey flavor. It gives a more authentic bbq wood smoke taste to the veggies and meat you cook
Date published: 2023-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best Hands down it gives the food a very mesquite smoke along with kingsford mesquite and barbecue sauce is all you need to make your outdoor summer grill complete thank me later in the seasons
Date published: 2023-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Mesquite Flavor We love to grill out and we especially love grilling with our charcoal grill. I just prefer the flavor charcoal gives to grilled food. I think this product gives your burgers, chicken, pork chops, weiners, and ribs just the right amount of mesquite flavor. I don't care for the mesquite flavor on my vegetables though. This product is very easy to use. Just put the desired amount in your charcoal grill then squirt your lighter fluid and light. Let the charcoal burn down before adding your food or you will burn yourself. If you love the mesquite flavor then get yourself a bag of this.
Date published: 2023-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mmmm...Burgers I really like this charcoal. It lights really easy, doesn't smell like chemicals once it's burning. And, oh my gosh, it makes amazing tasting burgers!!
Date published: 2023-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome flavor My family has used the Mesquite flavored charcoal for the past 25 years now, but I have not been able to find it at ANY store for the last 6 months. WHAT HAPPEND? There are several other charcoal brands still producing and selling the mesquite, but not Kingsford. Please bring it back!!
Date published: 2021-09-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stinky Stuff I bought this a couple of months ago because I thought it was the same as the Mesquite we used to buy - it's not!!!! My husbands clothes smell so bad after he grills that it all has to go into the wash immediately or it smells up the whole house. It is a smell so bad that I cannot describe it adequately. Don't buy this stuff! Buy the regular charcoal and add your own flavors.
Date published: 2021-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was very easy It was very easy to unite and burned slowly so we could get all the flavor into our meats.
Date published: 2021-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is definitely my This is definitely my favorite charcoal, and the mesquite flavor is an amazing addition to any food. It's easy to light, and burns evenly. It does burn a little quick but you can get long-lasting ones as well. They pretty much have charcoal for any type of situation you could think of.
Date published: 2021-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the one This is the one for chicken & burgers if you want the old time favor of wood smoke taste.
Date published: 2021-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely love this I absolutely love this brand plus the flavoring it gives while smoking the meat on the grill are amazing.
Date published: 2021-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great flavor for barbeques great flavor for barbeques gives the aroma well support I think it adds its own smell and really sets for a wonderful get together with a friend has a nice smell its affordable when it stands out beyond other charcoal products gives the meats great flavor
Date published: 2021-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and good Great product and good slow burn on these briquettes. No smelly after smell, and mesquite notes are great for a steak or grilled chicken.
Date published: 2021-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This iscgreat, adds a This iscgreat, adds a little mesquite flavor, easy to light, and convenient found at most grocers and walmart.
Date published: 2021-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I grew up on I grew up on kingsford charcoal before gas grills became popular, and I love grilling out. There is a flavor that kingsford charcoal has that you can't get with a gas grill. I suggest if you have a gas grill use the kingsford wood chips however charcoal is a great product. I have to be honest and tell you that your food will not have a mesquite flavor unless you use liquid smoke. I would recommend it if you have a charcoal grill.
Date published: 2021-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fast and easy Super fast and easy to light make food for the family. They make the food taste good and have a good variety!
Date published: 2021-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great smokie flayor i use this because mesquite is not available where i am at. it works great.
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This has a good This has a good flavor when grilled! It can be hard to get it started but once you do it lasts for a good while and has a woody smoky flavor! It’s affordable and I prefer kingsford when grilling!
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hands down the best Hands down the best charcoal ever! After queuing with this the flavor of your meat will be so yummy. You will not want to use any other charcoal.
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from we love the mesquite we love the mesquite flavor it adds to the meat. I like the quality that it has and that it lasts a long time.
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband always uses My husband always uses these when he brings out the charcoal grill. Definitely gives the meat a great flavor and it’s great product!
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think this is I think this is a great product. It does what it needs to do. It makes for great steaks. Would recommend to others.
Date published: 2021-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food comes out with Food comes out with such great taste I love to use this for my bbq! Price and value are great for this product! There is nothing I would change about this product! Very affordable! Truly satisfied with the taste it leaves my food when using this charcoal.
Date published: 2021-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have you cooked salmon Have you cooked salmon on the grill? No? You have to and make sure you get this brand. Mmm the flavors are absorbed into the salmon and it’ll get your taste buds excited!
Date published: 2021-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Husband loves using Kingsford Husband loves using Kingsford and all of the variety and choices they have developed. The mesquite is his favorite when grilling steaks, kabobs, or any kind of red meat. It gives the meat such a great flavor every time.
Date published: 2021-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I personally don’t grill I personally don’t grill but my husband always gets these. They give a great smoke and super easy to light and clean up.
Date published: 2021-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love how wood/charcoal I love how wood/charcoal cooks food so much better than propane grills, and this smells amazing!! Nothing is better than a burger or hot dog off of mesquite!
Date published: 2021-04-16
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_181
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_4, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 151.07ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.