An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Recipes

Memphis Barbecue Dry Ribs

All great Memphis BBQ ribs feature paprika and garlic, and this recipe is no different. With 8 additional seasonings and Kingsford® Signature Flavors, these dry ribs are full of flavor whether you’re cooking on a charcoal or pellet grill.

Grill-friendly weather alert! It’s the perfect week to make brisket *weather forecast provided by Openweathermap.org
  • Previous
  • Next
Cooking for 4 people

Ingredients

  • 2 slabs loin back (baby back) ribs

Dry Rub (makes 1 cup)

  • 3 tbsp. dark brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp. paprika
  • 2 tbsp. garlic salt
  • 1 tbsp. black pepper
  • 0.5 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 0.25 tsp. ground rosemary
  • 0.5 tsp. ground cumin
  • 0.5 tsp. dried oregano
  • 0.5 tsp. rubbed sage
  • 0.5 tsp. dried marjoram

Additional ingredients

  • 8 tsp. olive oil
  • 2 tsp. soy sauce
  • 1 cup white vinegar

1 Food Prep

  • Remove the membrane from the back of ribs.

  • Mix together your dry rub ingredients and reserve ½ cup of dry rub.

  • Mix the remaining dry rub with olive oil and soy sauce to form a paste. Apply your paste

  • generously to the front and back of the ribs.

2 Grill Prep

3 The Cook

  • Place your ribs meat side up away from the coals, on the cooler side of the grill. Close the lid and cook until the ribs are tender and have reached an internal temperature of 145ºF. This should take about 3½ hours.

  • Mix your vinegar with 1 cup of water in a shallow baking pan.

  • Remove your ribs from the grill and dip them into the vinegar water.

  • After dipping your ribs, place them on a cutting board. Season the ribs immediately with a heavy coat of the reserved dry rub. 

  • Cut and serve.

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Reviews
4.8
38 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm Walking in Memphis with These Ribs! This recipe was great. My husband doesn't like rosemary or sage so I substituted 1 Tablespoon chili powder,1 Tablespoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon dry mustard and 1 teaspoon coriander in their place. Also, after I dipped the ribs in the vinegar water and rolled them in the dry rub, I put them in the oven at 400deg for 6 minutes to give them a crusty bark.
Date published: 2023-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice ribs Nice look and Memphis style taste can't be beat for BBQ.
Date published: 2023-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Battle of the BBQ Cities Who has the best ribs? Memphis, in my opinion. The dry rub on these ribs is so flavorful and the meat is nice and juicy.
Date published: 2023-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ribs I love anything ribs. We always put ribs on the pit on our family outings.
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds flavorful and simple. Taking the meat out of the freezer, and won't have to worry about what's for dinner tomorrow.
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love ribs Can't wait to try it out I love cooking ribs especially with rubs
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Memphis Style Definitely, it reminds of Tennesse. Complex flavors. Maximum taste.
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finger licking good ribs I’m so happy I tried this recipe. So tender and delicious. You won’t be disappointed
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mouth watering so delicious! my whole family loves it! very flavorful!
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! No BBQ sauce needed! Ribs had a wonderful flavor. Tender, not overpowering and easy to do. Will make again. Husband raved about them.
Date published: 2023-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memphis Barbecue Dry Ribs OMG!!! These were outstanding. I loved the flavor of the Memphis Barbecue Dry Ribs.
Date published: 2023-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from memphis dry rub ribs I have tried this and it was amazing! No sauce needed
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memphis dry rub with a twist Will be making this one for the family this weekend and its also great on chicken wings!
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very flavorful These ribs were really lip smacking good 👍. Best ribs I've had
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BBQ ribs Tried the rub and loved it going to use it every time I BBQ from now on 👍👍👍👍
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best darn ribs ever I tried this recipe last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The flavor was phenomenal!!
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memphis Ribs Loved the rub cook was easy and turned out perfect!
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious!!! These ribs are fabulous! Just the right seasonings! It makes me hungry just thinking about them!
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hesitant at first Being from Memphis and eating Memphis style BBQ my entire life. This was a hit.
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good ribs I've made these ribs a few times. The people I've made them for and I have really enjoyed them.
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing dry 'bout them ribs So full of flavour. Don't need no sauce, 'cause these babies come out with the right amount of texture.
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dreamer Always looking to improving how I cook ribs and this did not disappoint.
Date published: 2023-05-26
  • y_2024, m_4, d_15, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_memphis-barbecue-dry-ribs, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 207.63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.