Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

Kingsford® Signature Flavors

Signature Flavors infuse your grilling experience with rich, full-bodied flavor and aroma that’s been known to cause some serious neighbor envy.

Read More

An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Charcoal with Hickory

Take your BBQ’s flavor up a notch with the savory smoky wood flavor of Kingsford® Charcoal with Hickory. Made with 100% natural ingredients and real wood, Kingsford® Charcoal with Hickory delivers the authentic, smoky wood flavor BBQ lovers crave. It’s the perfect complement to your pork, poultry, beef or game. And, just like Kingsford® Original Charcoal, Kingsford® with Hickory lights faster* and burns longer than competitive brands.† Available in 8-lb. and 16-lb. bags.

* Compared to nationally available conventional charcoal in the U.S.A.

† Compared to the leading store brand charcoal in the U.S.A.



100% natural ingredients
Ready to cook on in 15 minutes
Long burn time*
*Compared to other charcoal brands.
Made in the USA

Adventurous Eats


Take your taste buds outside their comfort zone with these unexpected twists on grilling favorites.


Our Reviews


4.4 /5
82 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All time favorites I All time favorites I grown up as a little girl watching my mom use this band to bbq now that I am an adult I use the same band that my family using it’s call we trust this band
Date published: 2021-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We use these at We use these at least once a week during the summer. They add the best flavor to anything you want to grill and they are easy to start and burn evenly. I would recommend them to anyone
Date published: 2021-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved using this I loved using this hickory flavored charcoal. The original is awesome so to add hickory to that makes it a lot better to kick up the flavor.
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make my bbq taste Make my bbq taste better and adds that hickory flavor and easy to use we love using this product
Date published: 2021-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is really just This is really just the first thing I see when I go buy charcoal for the grill and it does leave a great taste to whatever is being grilled !
Date published: 2021-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the hickory I like the hickory charcoal for our smokers because it adds flavor to the meat that we are cooking. Kingsford is a very reliable brand that we choose every time we get charcoal. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a hickory taste of the meat in which they are cooking.
Date published: 2021-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husbands favorite to My husbands favorite to use. He says it give the steaks and burgers a perfect extra flavor!
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for a Weber grill This product is excellent. Make a semicircle of briquettes 3 wide, 2 on top, then 1. Light one end. Generates minimal heat but maximum smoke. Finish in your oven at 225F for 2+ hrs. As good as any ribs you’ll ever eat.
Date published: 2021-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The smell alone makes The smell alone makes your heart and face smile. Meat comes out smelling and tasting like no other. Barely anything else compares.
Date published: 2021-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good smoke property I got this bag free on a promotion when I purchased 2 bags on sale
Date published: 2021-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love to Hickory I love to Hickory sent of charcoal it’s one of my favorites and there really is only a few that are really worth the money I am and how the meat turns out Kingsford is one
Date published: 2021-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Taate Makes the best tasting hamburgers and stakes. Our Favorite
Date published: 2020-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smokey flavor this past summer i tried it and was amazed at the smokey flavor it gave the meat. It had a nice long burn and easy to start my fire. Needs to be a year round product not seasonal.
Date published: 2020-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate favorite Love this charcoal but it’s hard to find anymore. Any suggestions of where to find?
Date published: 2020-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from burned too fast purchased the hickory and apple charcoal briquettes and they burned far faster then expected, just about went through both bags in one cook over what seemed to be a short period of time. also left a bit of lighter fluid cent/taste in the meats
Date published: 2020-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I thought I purchased the bag a week ago, I only use KIngsford Charcoal this time I tried the hickory for the first time, it produced no hickory taste and burnt really fast.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I Use! I love to cook on my Char-griller 5050! My favorites are rib-eyes, leg quarters, and salmon on cedar planks. I always use Kingsford Hickory. It has the best flavor andburns long and even. My only complaint is that it's hard to find at Lowes these days.
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I BBQ a burger for lunch almost every day, I live in the Great NW where its Winter The smell drives my neighbors Crazy
Date published: 2020-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learn how to use it. I have a Lodge Cast Iron Hibachi that I set in my old gad grill as a stand for it. It's big enough to put The Hibachi in and close the top. I use an electric starter to ignite the coal. The electric starter allows the Wood infused coals to smoke like the daylights. I take what I am going to put on the grill and a put it on a rack, put it off to the side of the Hibachi and close the cover down on it. I've just created a quick infusion smoke that will give my proteins the flavor of the wood infused charcoals. When the coals are about 80% done, I remove the electric starter , spread the coals, put the grill on the Hibachi and finish off my proteins over the direct heat. I do this with all my veggies too, especially corn on the cob, works great
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By Far The Greatest Taste While all of Kingsford's products are good, I am sold on the Hickory flavor. It delivers the smoke flavor I savor over all meats that I like to grill. This includes Steak, chicken and shrimp/fish. I have tried all of Kingsford's products. Some are better than others depending on which type of meat you like to grill. Hickory IMO covers them all. I will only buy this variant from now on.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this I would buy this charcoal all the time makes my BBQ taste great my local Walmart don't sell it any more it's a bummer really
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smoky taste to anything I tried this brand for the first time and I'm hooked.I do admit that it does burn a bit fast but it keeps burning to me and I'm satisfied
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good flavor I buy kingsford religiously and love all the flavors but this type burns very quickly. I was some what disappointed with the results.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for hot dogs... . I guess.. Not for bbq, not for smoking, maybe just to get something else lit maybe. Burns QUICKLY! Good for grilling hotdogs, thin burgers, a chicken breast, stuff people up north or in California would call barbeque.
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I use in my smoker I love this product. It has replaced my need to search for wood for my smoker. Gives perfect tastey smoke rings in my meat with no bitterness. I wish I could find the applewood and pecanwood in stores somewhere.
Date published: 2018-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kingsford hickory charcoal I bought this today it was 3 x's the cost of regular Kingsford charcoal. I had to use about 4 x's as much to get the same result. To cook the ribs I had to remove the ribs put in new charcoal and light it again after only 30 minutes as what was left of the first mound of charcoal was just ash.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing Better!!! My dad was a Kingsford man, now I am a Kingsford man. Last year I tried both the Mesquite and the Hickory. I liked the Mesquite for chicken… But the Hickory is the very best flavor I have ever had from a charcoal grill! I will use nothing but Kingsford Hickory from now on. Now for those who put up poor reviews… Kingsford Hickory is not "light it and forget it". You have to tend to it like a guy at a grill cooking up some prime rib-eyes! If you are looking to "light it and forget it" to heat some hotdogs, go get a gas grill. This stuff is for real grilling!
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I use this product just for smoking. Start with regular briquettes and the hickory charcoal on top. Excellent hickory smoke flavor.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If you bought it, return it! Maybe good for a smoker, but useless to try and cook with. I have a chimney starter and have been using charcoal most my adult life and have never had such trouble with charcoal as I did this product. The charcoal lights and begins to burn just like regular kingsford, but oddly enough, produces very little heat. (Plenty of smoke though) Even with the drafts on my Weber grill wide open, I have trouble keeping the coals producing heat as they burn. I purchased my charcoal at Target and kept inside in an upstairs closet in my home to ensure they stay dry. I even tried using lighter fluid to light them and still got the same results. Very disappointed, threw the rest of it in my fire pit.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad investment I used a whole bag of hickory charcoal and let it cook for over 4hours and had no smoke flavor. Guess I go back to western hickory chunks.
Date published: 2016-11-19
  • y_2022, m_9, d_29, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_3, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 108.54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT