An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Recipes

Grilled Corn

Grilled corn is the cookout must-have everyone loves. What makes it a favorite? Its sweet flavor is enhanced just by grilling it over charcoal.

Grill-friendly weather alert! It’s the perfect week to make brisket *weather forecast provided by Openweathermap.org
  • Previous
  • Next
Cooking for 4 people

Ingredients

  • 4 ears corn on the cob
  • 1 tbsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. pepper
  • 2 tbsp. butter


1 Food Prep

  • For shucked grilled corn: Prepare your corn for direct grilling by removing the husk and silk.

  • Grilled Corn in the Husk: If you’re grilling corn in the husk, there’s no prep required — how about pouring yourself a cold beverage in the meantime?

2 Grill Prep

3 The Cook

  • Shucked Grilled Corn

  • When you’re at temp, put cooking oil on a folded paper towel. Grab the oiled paper towel with long-handled tongs and oil the grate thoroughly.

  • Place your shucked corn directly above the coals. Grill your corn for 10 minutes, turning every 2 minutes until the kernels soften and become lightly charred. If your corn begins to char before kernels soften, move it to the cool side of the grate and close the lid to allow for additional cooking.

  • Once your corn is lightly charred and kernels are cooked through, remove it from the grill. Serve your corn with butter and salt immediately to allow butter to melt, and enjoy!
  • Grilled Corn in the Husk

  • When you’re at temp, put cooking oil on a folded paper towel. Grab the oiled paper towel with long-handled tongs and oil the grate thoroughly.

  • Place your corn directly above the coals. Grill your corn for approximately 15 minutes, turning every 2 to 3 minutes as the husk begins to blacken and the kernels steam within the husk.

  • If a husk catches fire, don’t panic this is pretty common.Move the corn to the cool side of the grate and close the lid. This will kill the flames, and allow the corn to cook through.

  • Once the husk is charred, pull back the husk on one of your corns to check if it’s cooked through. Your corn should be a bright yellow. Continue cooking if your corn is unevenly cooked in areas.

  • Once your corn is cooked through and kernels are softened, remove it from the grill. Shuck your corn and serve with butter and salt immediately to allow butter to melt, and enjoy!

Reviews
4.8
37 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy instructions I have never grilled corn and now I will. I always use Kingsford because it's got a great flavor but we used when I was growing up. It's a tradition!
Date published: 2023-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect picnic! We always used to boil corn on the cob. Grilling with husks on is the only way to cook corn now.
Date published: 2023-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty I love corn on the grill especially cooked in the husk
Date published: 2023-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from aesome way I love corn on a grill. What a difference! Just love it.!
Date published: 2023-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Way To Eat Corn If you're a fresh corn lover, there's no better way to serve it that grilled fresh on the cob. The grilling enhances the sweetness and gives it that wonderful smoky flavor.
Date published: 2023-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the Grilled Flavor I’ve never had grilled corn before. I was pleasantly surprised. I absolutely loved the grilled flavor. I found that the burn looking kernels were the best tasting ones. I may grill mine longer next time to find out. This will definitely be my new way of cooking corn on the cob.
Date published: 2023-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Simple but so good! You have all the ingredients in your pantry and it turns out great every time.
Date published: 2023-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 Ways to Try Grilling Corn I really like that you are given 2 ways to grill corn. In the husk or out. I personally prefer to cook corn out of the husk so I get the charred look and taste. I also like using the regular Kingsford charcoal. No gas grill for this family!
Date published: 2023-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from top corn Easy and simple when about 2 minutes to finish move to cool side and bast with melted lime butter
Date published: 2023-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Excellent Really easy and delicious, especially when the corn is homegrown.
Date published: 2023-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Directions Easy to follow directions and easy to make delicious corn on the cob
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good and Tasty I love a quick and easy corn on the cob grilled recipe, and this was just perfect. I added a little lemon pepper to the recipe and turned out perfect.
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet and Delicious My whole family loves this recipe and it's a fast way to get in a serving of veggies!
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer grilled corn on the cob Sounds very easy to make. Would make an easy side vegtables for summer cook outs with family and friends.
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the corn Made it yesterday with pork chops potatoes grilled green onions
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best grilled corn recipe I’m so happy I tried this way of grilling my corn This was a hit for my family
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Recipe Grilling is my favorite way to eat corn on the cob. Fresh summer corn simply prepared.
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How to grill corn I tried this recipe and loved it, the corn had a great taste.
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from turned out tasty! I love the flavor that grilling gives corn on the cob and this method worked well.
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grilled Mexican corn Corn was great. We eat grilled corn often and this gives a different option.
Date published: 2023-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great detail The writer goes into great detail to describe each step to this delicious refreshing summertime favorite. I love grilled corn and I am always excited to.read and try others recipes.
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe makes no sense The last step for corn in the husk makes no sense. When do you shuck the corn if it’s been cooking in the husks?
Date published: 2022-07-17
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_how-to-corn, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 125.05ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.