Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

Kingsford® Signature Flavors

Signature Flavors infuse your grilling experience with rich, full-bodied flavor and aroma that’s been known to cause some serious neighbor envy.

Read More

An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More

Let's get grilling

Pork Medallions

1 Pork Medallions:
Using Kingsford® Cherrywood Charcoal, build a fire for direct grilling and preheat to medium-high (approximately 400°F).
2 In a small bowl, combine dry rub and ground coffee and mix well.
3 Season pork medallions with the BBQ coffee dry rub then grill for approximately 5 minutes per side until they reach an internal temperature of 145°F.
4 Remove pork medallions from the grill and immediately top each medallion with BBQ butter before serving.

BBQ Butter

1 BBQ Butter:
Combine butter and dry rub in a small bowl and blend well.
2 Set BBQ butter aside until if using immediately, otherwise cover and refrigerate.
Cooking for 0 people

Ingredients


Pork Medallions

  • Your favorite BBQ dry rub
    0.3 cup
  • ground coffee
    3 tbsp.
  • pork tenderloin cut crosswise into 2-inch medallions
    2 lb.

BBQ Butter

  • unsalted butter room temperature
    1 stick
  • your favorite dry BBQ rub
    1 tbsp.

Credit: Clint Cantwell

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.


Our Reviews


2.8 /5
21 Reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful! If this is what we need to do to save the planet then I’m out. This smells like trash and is reluctant to light...it’s lighter fluid for Pete's sake!
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lots of Smoke I bought this since regular fluid was not available. Caught quick, but flamed out fsirly quickly. Took nearly 30 minutes for the smoke to disappear. After that it was ok. If you use this in tight quarters you definitely won’t be the favorite neighbor especially if any windows are open. Won’t use or bu again.
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells skunky I bought this recently, I thought I had bought bad briquets, but the second time, I realized it was the fluid. Smells like bad bourbon. Won’t use this again.
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Saw this new Eco light from Kingsford couldn't wait to try it so brought 4 for the summer.It burn fast.Our food tasted like this stuff.So we don't like it.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works smell goes away I was surprised this really did work. It is also the same size and price of the regular one. It did light and the fire did spread. It did create a lot more smoke at first and the unpleasant smell did dissipate by the time the coals were hot. The burgers tasted great.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stinks Can’t wait to return this stuff. Just smolders and gives off an odor.
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Improvement Works great to start coals. An squirt might be needed but caught fast and started my Kingsford coals without delay. No odor nor lingering petroleum hydrocarbons infusing food grilled. Corn based alcohol mixed with soybean oil. I am wondering if methanol or ethanol?
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beats the petreo based product I have been using eco light for several years, both to light charcoal and to light campfires. It doesn't flash when lite but still lights quickly. I had a cookout last night in an open grill. I used 10 lbs of charcoal and 16 ounces of lighter (per direction) The coals were piled in a pyramid for lighting and I did not use a chimney. The fire was ready in 20 minutes with a nice white ash and full heat. For campfires I use a small amount (1- 2 ounces) on dry kindling and the fire is going within minutes. There is no chemical odor. I just wish it was easier to find in stores
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attracts rats Rat chewed into the bottle in my garage. Works OK. A little slow to catch.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for you and good for the environment This lighter fluid have virtually no smell at all. You really get to appreciate the smell of what the charcoal should actually smell like. I think some people will miss the familiar lighter fluid smell but I don't miss the toxins. I'm super happy with this product it does seem to produce a little more smoke at first but the smoke has very little smell at all. Thank you Kingsford for responding to Consumer demand for environmentally friendly and conscious healthy products.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Use if you have to! Tried this Eco friendly version and it was a bust! It may be Eco friendly, but not so grill friendly. It took forever to flame and when it did, the fire did not spread very far even though the coals were saturated thoroughly. The flames lasted a short while, less than 20 seconds. It was miserable. The grill poured thick black smoke as the coals attempted to heat up. Finally, after begging the fire and grill Gods for 40 minutes, the grill was almost ready. I love Kingsford products and will continue to use the thick long burning coals (these are the bomb and I LOVE them) as well as their normal lighter fluid....however, the Eco will never be purchased again! It was a bust for my experience!
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smokes like crazy At first I thought, wow this stuff is not bad. Then the flames drifted out, as they do, but what came next was 10 minutes of the thickest smoke I've ever seen coming out of a bbq. Be prepared to smoke out the neighbors.
Date published: 2018-08-19
  • y_2022, m_11, d_26, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_28, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 125.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Adventurous Eats


Take your taste buds outside their comfort zone with these unexpected twists on grilling favorites.

Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.