An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Recipes

Chicago-Style Char Dogs

This decked-out hot dog is an original Windy City creation. Add the extra step of grilling, and it’s a backyard sensation.

Grill-friendly weather alert! It’s the perfect week to make brisket *weather forecast provided by Openweathermap.org
  • Previous
  • Next
Cooking for 4 people

Ingredients

  • 4 all-beef hot dogs
  • 4 hot dog buns

Hot Dog toppings

  • 2 tbsp. yellow mustard
  • 0.25 cup bright green sweet pickle relish
  • 0.5 small white onion, diced
  • 2 small Roma tomatoes, cut into thin wedges
  • 4 dill pickle spears
  • pickled sport peppers, to taste
  • celery salt, to taste

1 Food Prep

First, butterfly the hot dogs by slicing them lengthwise without cutting all the way through. 

Next, get your hot dog toppings together so they’ll be ready when the hot dogs come off the grill. Cut the 2 small Roma tomatoes into thin wedges, and dice ½ of a small white onion.

2 Grill Prep

Fuel: We recommend Kingsford® Original Charcoal Briquets

Method: Direct-Heat Grilling

Temp: 400°F (Medium Heat)

3 The Cook

  • When you’re at temp, put cooking oil on a folded paper towel. Grab the oiled paper towel with long-handled tongs and oil the grate thoroughly.

  • Gently open the butterflied hot dogs and lay them flat on the grill.
  • Cook for about 2 minutes on each side, until charred in spots and hot throughout.
  • Grill the buns quickly over the coals for about 1 minute, until they’re lightly toasted.
  • Place 1 hot dog on each bun and top with ¼ of the toppings. Add sport peppers to taste, then sprinkle with the celery salt.
  • Repeat with the remaining hot dogs and serve immediately — hot off the grill.

For safe meat preparation, reference the USDA website.

Reviews
4.7
39 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chicago-Style Char Dogs My stepson loves these and told us about them when he moved to Oklahoma from Oregon to live with us. I had never heard of such a thing but I LOVE THEM! This recipe is so easy and fun. They are a staple for us now.
Date published: 2023-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Delicious Chicago Style Char Dogs I thoroughly enjoyed the delectable Chicago char dog. The combination of all-beef hot dogs nestled in perfectly toasted hot dog buns was a delightful treat. The choice of toppings I used truly elevated the flavors. The addition of yellow mustard added a tangy kick, while the green, sweet pickle relish provided a delightful sweetness. I also included diced white onions and thin wedges of Roma tomatoes, which added a refreshing crunch. The dill pickle spears contributed a delicious briny note, and I adjusted the level of pickled sport peppers to suit my taste. To round it all off, a sprinkle of celery salt added the perfect finishing touch. Overall, this Chicago char dog was a mouthwatering experience that I can't wait to indulge in again.
Date published: 2023-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh yeeaaahhhh! I had never had a Chicago style hot dog before but I don't think ketchup is gonna cut it after this! All the extra toppings took it to the next level!
Date published: 2023-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deliciousness I love this! It reminds me so much of Chicago Style Hot Dogs and brings me memories of home!!!
Date published: 2023-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best independence day dish This is so unique and mouthwatering I can't stand it!
Date published: 2023-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME LOVES THIS, BUT HAD TO LEAVE OUT ONION FOR ME, BUT OTHERS LOVED IT
Date published: 2023-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dogs Tasty little things. Great for the grill. Would be great for the 4th
Date published: 2023-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta love the dog One of the best Hotdogs ever. Fast and easy. Loved every bite.
Date published: 2023-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious This recipe is the hands down best recipe in this world ! Everything about this is delicious and simple and easy to make ! I love how you can switch some of the ingredients and make it your own special dish and it still taste phenomenal! Mouth watering soul food ! If you haven't tried this , you are most definitely missing something good !
Date published: 2023-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Robust flavor I made this recipe yesterday The flavor is robust. I really enjoyed the prep, I cooked this with my daughter. I whole-heartedly think this is a great recipe
Date published: 2023-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Authentic Chicago toppings-it’s a winner I would highly recommend this recipe, esp the detail given to how to butterfly the hotdogs and even how to correctly cut the tomatoes & onions. BEST OF ALL, no ketchup…never ever. The only thing I would add as an option is hot dogs buns with poppyseeds! I know it sounds strange, but this is a great addition. I say “optional” because they are not available in all parts of the country. I know because our family moved 20 yrs ago & I have everyone’s mouth watering just thinking about the ONLY way our families have hotdogs.
Date published: 2023-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the Best You can NEVER go wrong with this recipe. Everyone loves a hot dog, but this loaded char dog takes it over the top.
Date published: 2023-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The taste is amazing! I can't believe I have ever made hot dogs any other way! These are my new favorite!
Date published: 2023-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb old school hotdogs. I hadn't had nice charred hot dogs in many years. Now i've got to make them like this forever.
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! These hotdogs are unique in style of flavors only known from Chicago and are so delicious.
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Chicago. Char dogs It Needs bacon bits for extra flavor. And no pickle spear. It makes the bun soggy
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hot dogs ever OH MY WORD THESE WERE SO AMAZING!!!! Just a bit a kick with the taste of summer
Date published: 2023-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Party Pleaser Easy party pleaser for everyone especially for groups like baseball teams. Able to quickly make and ready to serve hot while no one has to wait or have their food served cold.
Date published: 2023-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chicago Dogs are the best! I love these dogs! The celery salt brings it all together! Remember no ketchup on your dogs unless your under 10yrs old😁
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS THIS WAS SO GOOD A REAL CROWD PLEASER !The best part was the grill taste fromcharcoal cooking not gas!
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Made these and they were delicious. Will definitely be making them again.
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In Illinois Chicago dogs are the GREATEST Chicago dogs are the best way to serve up hot dogs
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG Yes!!! Thanks for the recipe. I’m from Illinois not too far from downtown Chicago. Nothing like a long walk on Navy pier eating a Chicago style dog, overlooking Lake Michigan.
Date published: 2021-10-29
  • y_2024, m_6, d_17, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_RECIPE_5567, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 157.68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.