Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

Kingsford® Signature Flavors

Signature Flavors infuse your grilling experience with rich, full-bodied flavor and aroma that’s been known to cause some serious neighbor envy.

Read More

An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Original Charcoal

Since 1920, Kingsford® Original Charcoal has been the gold standard of grilling. Made in the USA* with 100% natural ingredients, including North American wood, Kingsford® Original gives BBQ lovers the smoky wood-fired flavor they crave. Our Original briquets are great for any grilling occasion. Whether you’re smoking a brisket, grilling up vegetables or firing up the grill at your next tailgate, Kingsford® Original delivers the best in authentic BBQ flavor. In fact, Kingsford® lights faster† than competitive brands, giving you the ultimate grilling experience — every time. Available in a variety of sizes, from 4-lb. to 2x20-lb. bags.

  • * With North American ingredients
  • † Compared to nationally available conventional charcoal in the U.S.A.


100% natural ingredients
Ready to cook on in 15 minutes
Long burn time*
*Compared to other charcoal brands.

Adventurous Eats


Take your taste buds outside their comfort zone with these unexpected twists on grilling favorites.


Our Reviews


4.7 /5
3472 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from for orchids I was wondering if you put any chemicals in your original formula. I need natural charcoal (which your packaging indicates ) for the purpose of putting in the bottom of pots for propagating orchids. I use your original product for grilling and am very satisfied but don't know if you have any chemicals in this variety.
Date published: 2021-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kingsford Original My most recent experiences with Kingsford have been awful. Not sure if the formulas has changed, but the coals don't last as long as they have in the past. In the past I was able to cook several rounds of steaks, but now I can barely make it thru a second round. Please go back to your original formula.
Date published: 2021-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute garbage I've been using this for decades, but no more. Despite using it in a charcoal chimney with newspapers -- as I have for many years -- it doesn't burn. I'm not sure if it's some kind of EPA restriction or what, but it no longer burns and is absolute garbage these days.
Date published: 2021-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always get this product kingsford . Been useing this kind for over 30 years it’s the best I won’t bbq without it …
Date published: 2021-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Will not last I bought matchlight and it didn't stay hot enough to cook two small steaks medium rare....it's ridiculous for the amount of money I wasted on this charcoal. I had to bring the food inside and finish it up on the foreman grill. Get it together Kingsford!
Date published: 2021-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells like the garbage dump Kingsford briquettes used to be really sweet smelling and produced excellent BBQ. In the past 3 or more years, Kingsford briquettes have a similar odor to a garbage dump that is burning garbage. Please,. return to the original formula!
Date published: 2021-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Kingsford Charcoal is the best the food taste so good with Kingsford Charcoal
Date published: 2021-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST if you A MUST if you are grilling with charcoal (which makes the food taste so much better). Easy to set up and they stay hot for a good amount of time, so you don't need to worry about your food not getting cooked.
Date published: 2021-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the Kingsford I love the Kingsford Original Charcoal and use it exclusively whenever I'm grilling. It's a definite staple in my house. We don't grill if we're out of Kingsford
Date published: 2021-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from long term user Attached are pictures of my club's bbq 8/28/2021. Here are a few facts. We racked 518 chicken halves averaging 1.523 pounds or 24.4 ounces each. What a slab of meat. Total of meat weighed 790 pounds but only 520 pounds charcoal, that's 26 20# bags. That means it only required 0.659 # to grill a pound of chicken for 2 hours. Chicken bbq is a major fundraiser for Mount Sidney Ruritan Club as we have monthly bbq dates to grill approximately 4500 -5000 during the grilling season. Kingsford has done a good job for us over the years and purchase 5-6 pallets for the year. Thank you Kingsford, Wayne BBQ Chairman
Date published: 2021-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New original The charcoal you buy in Lowe’s / Home Depot is NOT the same as before. It no longer says hardwood charcoal it burns way to fast!! Forcing me to spend more to get a true hardwood product.
Date published: 2021-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford original charcoal is Kingsford original charcoal is by far my favorite brand. I have used other brands but this one never fails me. It is easy to light, it’s stays lit and burns evenly.
Date published: 2021-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What is that taste ?!? I always use lump charcoal on my grill. Wifey came home with a bag of Kingsford and I am not happy about the taste of my steaks. You took sawdust and glued it into briquettes? I do not like cooking with or ingesting glue...
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I have used your product for many years but have noticed in the past 2 years it is not the same! To get it up to cooking temperature I have to take my lawn blower to it. And then it does not last very long. In the mean time I bought another brand that burns just like the old Kingsford. You must have changed the formulation to maintain margin.
Date published: 2021-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from can't beat the taste GREAT taste and flavor. Sure beats electric or gas grills. Does it take a little longer to cook. Yes but doesn't doing anything right take just a little bit longer. But it always makes a difference. Use gas for conveinice but use charcoal if you want flavor.
Date published: 2021-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It sucks The last 6 bags we purchased from Meijer have been awful. You can’t plan cooking times any longer. Doesn’t get hot, seems like we have to cook twice as long. Then the coals burn up before the food is done. We have had to finish food in the microwave. Never had to do that before! Something changed and we don’t like it!
Date published: 2021-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only one My local grocery store was out of Kingsford. I bought the generic brand. I will NEVER, EVER, EVER do that again!
Date published: 2021-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This charcoal is horrible. Kingsford used to be the best charcoal. It absolutely sucks. I don't know what has changed but it no longer cooks well, burns up way too fast and does not develop a nice white ash when ready to cook any longer.
Date published: 2021-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Matchlight sucks Every time I get the matchlight, it never freaking lights...so I'm going to quit buying this stuff. I guess I'll try royal oak
Date published: 2021-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It’s not the same!! Changing brands!! The last six bags of Kingsford charcoal I have bought burnt out extremely fast!! I thought maybe just a bad bag or two but the quality is nowhere near what it used to be! Not sure if they changed their process or what but I’m definitely not buying anymore. After 35 years of what used to be a great product I’m no longer going to put myself through this aggravation!! Good by Kingsford, time to find a new favorite!
Date published: 2021-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is excellent charcoal This is excellent charcoal but can be difficult to light. Lighter fluid required, but my preferred method is to mix this with the matchlight for grilling. This has consistent burn. This is the only brand for grilling we use.
Date published: 2021-07-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't work for me As you can see on the pictures, 3/4 of my coals were cold (my hand is on the grill LOL and i would say only 5 coals became red on the opposite side...maybe this just one bag was spoiled and im the unlucky customer who got it!
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smell great all the time. When and where I can find the original on sale I always get 3or4 bags. I keep one in my trunk. My family is always having a cookout.
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only This is the only charcoal my husband will use. He is an excellent grillmaster and loves how Kingsford original charcoal makes the food taste.
Date published: 2021-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only charcoal to use if you like flavour I have used it for years and years. Tried other ( cheaper and more expensive) brands... no go! I stick with what works.
Date published: 2021-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will only cook on Kingsford briquets. I've used only Kingsford briquets for a very long time, probably 30 years or more. The product is great quality, with no variance between purchases. It lights easily, burns predictably, and makes great smoke. My cooks will often be 100 lb. pork chops, 10 to 16 Boston butts, 20 or more chicken halves, ribs by the case, or as many as 25 steaks. I really do not want to use any other brand.
Date published: 2021-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from constincy. 50plus year user had to settle for a nother brand due to flooding. it took forever to lite did not retain heat as long. had to buy in desperation.
Date published: 2021-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not impressed! WAY to much dust in the bag, generated a lot of smoke when starting and ash when finished.
Date published: 2021-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only This is the only charcoal I normally buy inless it's out of stock. I grill alot all year round and use this charcoal to do so. It's easy to use and works every time. I do used lighter fluid to start it. I normally store it in the shed but it lasts well as long as you close it and store it where it doesn't get wet. But iv actually forgotten outside in a rain storm and once it dried it worked just like it was never wet.
Date published: 2021-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am a very I am a very inexperienced grill master. This charcoal was very easy to set up and the burn was great. It was pretty affordable. I was very pleased with this product. I would recommend to others no matter how experienced they are with the grill.
Date published: 2021-06-29
  • y_2022, m_12, d_6, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_153, tr_3319
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 213.41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT