Kingsford®

Original Charcoal

Since 1920, Kingsford® Original Charcoal has been the gold standard of grilling. Made in the USA* with 100% natural ingredients, including North American wood, Kingsford® Original gives BBQ lovers the smoky wood-fired flavor they crave. Our Original briquets are great for any grilling occasion. Whether you’re smoking a brisket, grilling up vegetables or firing up the grill at your next tailgate, Kingsford® Original delivers the best in authentic BBQ flavor. In fact, Kingsford® lights faster† than competitive brands, giving you the ultimate grilling experience — every time. Available in a variety of sizes, from 4-lb. to 2x20-lb. bags.

  • * With North American ingredients
  • † Compared to nationally available conventional charcoal in the U.S.A.


100% natural ingredients
Ready to cook on in 15 minutes
Long burn time*
*Compared to other charcoal brands.

Adventurous Eats


Take your taste buds outside their comfort zone with these unexpected twists on grilling favorites.


Our Reviews


4.7 /5
3446 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product The reviews that complain about the product not lighting, burning, whatever, are simple insane. I’ve been grilling and smoking with this stuff for a decade in my Weber kettle and Smoky Mountain Bullet smoker, including several overnight smokes. Lighting is a cinch with a chimney and the briquettes burn perfectly. Great product!
Date published: 2021-12-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rip off I went out of my way to buy Kingsford to upload the recipes for coupons on there promotion, took pictures, uploaded and Now there saying I only did one, I did at least 5. No I didn't keep the recipe or the pictures, why would I, got confirmation that the were good as soon as they verified them, Well lesson learned, wont buy again, wasted my time
Date published: 2021-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from match light wouldn't light we bought a new bag of Kingsford Match Light a week before Thanksgiving. We have a tradition of grilling our turkey, and have been using Kingsford for almost three decades. This year, however, it did not turn out well. I set up the grill, a Weber Kettle, as usual, put in the charcoal, AND IT WOULD NOT LIGHT. I finally had to resort to a sizeable dose of charcoal lighter fluid to start the coals, and even then, the coals did not get hot enough to adequately cook the turkey. I finally had to resort to finishing it on our gas grill, and still ended up with a delayed dinner. I don't know what happened to Kingsford, but will be looking for another alternative in the future.
Date published: 2021-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only This is the only brand charcoal I use. It is by far the best! I also love their seasonings for grilling! They’re sooo good! U must try!
Date published: 2021-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from for orchids I was wondering if you put any chemicals in your original formula. I need natural charcoal (which your packaging indicates ) for the purpose of putting in the bottom of pots for propagating orchids. I use your original product for grilling and am very satisfied but don't know if you have any chemicals in this variety.
Date published: 2021-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kingsford Original My most recent experiences with Kingsford have been awful. Not sure if the formulas has changed, but the coals don't last as long as they have in the past. In the past I was able to cook several rounds of steaks, but now I can barely make it thru a second round. Please go back to your original formula.
Date published: 2021-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute garbage I've been using this for decades, but no more. Despite using it in a charcoal chimney with newspapers -- as I have for many years -- it doesn't burn. I'm not sure if it's some kind of EPA restriction or what, but it no longer burns and is absolute garbage these days.
Date published: 2021-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always get this product kingsford . Been useing this kind for over 30 years it’s the best I won’t bbq without it …
Date published: 2021-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Will not last I bought matchlight and it didn't stay hot enough to cook two small steaks medium rare....it's ridiculous for the amount of money I wasted on this charcoal. I had to bring the food inside and finish it up on the foreman grill. Get it together Kingsford!
Date published: 2021-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells like the garbage dump Kingsford briquettes used to be really sweet smelling and produced excellent BBQ. In the past 3 or more years, Kingsford briquettes have a similar odor to a garbage dump that is burning garbage. Please,. return to the original formula!
Date published: 2021-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Kingsford Charcoal is the best the food taste so good with Kingsford Charcoal
Date published: 2021-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST if you A MUST if you are grilling with charcoal (which makes the food taste so much better). Easy to set up and they stay hot for a good amount of time, so you don't need to worry about your food not getting cooked.
Date published: 2021-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the Kingsford I love the Kingsford Original Charcoal and use it exclusively whenever I'm grilling. It's a definite staple in my house. We don't grill if we're out of Kingsford
Date published: 2021-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from long term user Attached are pictures of my club's bbq 8/28/2021. Here are a few facts. We racked 518 chicken halves averaging 1.523 pounds or 24.4 ounces each. What a slab of meat. Total of meat weighed 790 pounds but only 520 pounds charcoal, that's 26 20# bags. That means it only required 0.659 # to grill a pound of chicken for 2 hours. Chicken bbq is a major fundraiser for Mount Sidney Ruritan Club as we have monthly bbq dates to grill approximately 4500 -5000 during the grilling season. Kingsford has done a good job for us over the years and purchase 5-6 pallets for the year. Thank you Kingsford, Wayne BBQ Chairman
Date published: 2021-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New original The charcoal you buy in Lowe’s / Home Depot is NOT the same as before. It no longer says hardwood charcoal it burns way to fast!! Forcing me to spend more to get a true hardwood product.
Date published: 2021-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford original charcoal is Kingsford original charcoal is by far my favorite brand. I have used other brands but this one never fails me. It is easy to light, it’s stays lit and burns evenly.
Date published: 2021-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What is that taste ?!? I always use lump charcoal on my grill. Wifey came home with a bag of Kingsford and I am not happy about the taste of my steaks. You took sawdust and glued it into briquettes? I do not like cooking with or ingesting glue...
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I have used your product for many years but have noticed in the past 2 years it is not the same! To get it up to cooking temperature I have to take my lawn blower to it. And then it does not last very long. In the mean time I bought another brand that burns just like the old Kingsford. You must have changed the formulation to maintain margin.
Date published: 2021-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from can't beat the taste GREAT taste and flavor. Sure beats electric or gas grills. Does it take a little longer to cook. Yes but doesn't doing anything right take just a little bit longer. But it always makes a difference. Use gas for conveinice but use charcoal if you want flavor.
Date published: 2021-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It sucks The last 6 bags we purchased from Meijer have been awful. You can’t plan cooking times any longer. Doesn’t get hot, seems like we have to cook twice as long. Then the coals burn up before the food is done. We have had to finish food in the microwave. Never had to do that before! Something changed and we don’t like it!
Date published: 2021-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only one My local grocery store was out of Kingsford. I bought the generic brand. I will NEVER, EVER, EVER do that again!
Date published: 2021-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This charcoal is horrible. Kingsford used to be the best charcoal. It absolutely sucks. I don't know what has changed but it no longer cooks well, burns up way too fast and does not develop a nice white ash when ready to cook any longer.
Date published: 2021-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Matchlight sucks Every time I get the matchlight, it never freaking lights...so I'm going to quit buying this stuff. I guess I'll try royal oak
Date published: 2021-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It’s not the same!! Changing brands!! The last six bags of Kingsford charcoal I have bought burnt out extremely fast!! I thought maybe just a bad bag or two but the quality is nowhere near what it used to be! Not sure if they changed their process or what but I’m definitely not buying anymore. After 35 years of what used to be a great product I’m no longer going to put myself through this aggravation!! Good by Kingsford, time to find a new favorite!
Date published: 2021-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is excellent charcoal This is excellent charcoal but can be difficult to light. Lighter fluid required, but my preferred method is to mix this with the matchlight for grilling. This has consistent burn. This is the only brand for grilling we use.
Date published: 2021-07-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't work for me As you can see on the pictures, 3/4 of my coals were cold (my hand is on the grill LOL and i would say only 5 coals became red on the opposite side...maybe this just one bag was spoiled and im the unlucky customer who got it!
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smell great all the time. When and where I can find the original on sale I always get 3or4 bags. I keep one in my trunk. My family is always having a cookout.
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only This is the only charcoal my husband will use. He is an excellent grillmaster and loves how Kingsford original charcoal makes the food taste.
Date published: 2021-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only charcoal to use if you like flavour I have used it for years and years. Tried other ( cheaper and more expensive) brands... no go! I stick with what works.
Date published: 2021-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will only cook on Kingsford briquets. I've used only Kingsford briquets for a very long time, probably 30 years or more. The product is great quality, with no variance between purchases. It lights easily, burns predictably, and makes great smoke. My cooks will often be 100 lb. pork chops, 10 to 16 Boston butts, 20 or more chicken halves, ribs by the case, or as many as 25 steaks. I really do not want to use any other brand.
Date published: 2021-07-05
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_153, tr_3293
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 213.04ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT