Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

Kingsford® Signature Flavors

Signature Flavors infuse your grilling experience with rich, full-bodied flavor and aroma that’s been known to cause some serious neighbor envy.

Read More

An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Original Charcoal

Since 1920, Kingsford® Original Charcoal has been the gold standard of grilling. Made in the USA* with 100% natural ingredients, including North American wood, Kingsford® Original gives BBQ lovers the smoky wood-fired flavor they crave. Our Original briquets are great for any grilling occasion. Whether you’re smoking a brisket, grilling up vegetables or firing up the grill at your next tailgate, Kingsford® Original delivers the best in authentic BBQ flavor. In fact, Kingsford® lights faster† than competitive brands, giving you the ultimate grilling experience — every time. Available in a variety of sizes, from 4-lb. to 2x20-lb. bags.

  • * With North American ingredients
  • † Compared to nationally available conventional charcoal in the U.S.A.


100% natural ingredients
Ready to cook on in 15 minutes
Long burn time*
*Compared to other charcoal brands.

Adventurous Eats


Take your taste buds outside their comfort zone with these unexpected twists on grilling favorites.


Our Reviews


4.7 /5
3479 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the Job Done Nothing like some good ole Kingsford Original Charcoal to get your summer BBQ’s tight. They light easy and a little goes a long way. I definitely recommend them!!
Date published: 2022-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford charcoal What I like about Kingsford charcoal is it lights easily & it always have my barbecue tasting delicious. My entire family likes it & uses it. Great product
Date published: 2022-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brand Kingsford original Charcoal has always been and will always be my families number one brand when having a cook out. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2022-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charcoal OG My husband loves to grill and when charcoal is needed, this is his go to. Kingsford doesn't take forever to get going in the chimney (unlike some others). You can get flavored varities but we opt to add our own wood chunks as desired.
Date published: 2022-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use Kingsford Every Weekend My huband wrote this review “I use these every weekend. I barbecue a lot. Kingsford is the only one I use. It is the longest lasting brand. I would definitely recommend 10/10.”
Date published: 2022-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who Doesn't Like a Good Barbecue?!? One of my favorite family times is us just barbecuing in the backyard. I think grilling makes the food just taste better! And who doesn't like enjoying a good ol' smore?! Choosing the correct coals really does matter and these are my favs. They are easy to light and actually stay lit. They are long lasting and definitely are great assistance when making that perfect burger or hot dog. A great product at a great price and will continue to buy.
Date published: 2022-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Nothing fancy you don’t have to reinvent the wheel but i buy this weekly! It does the job easy to light flavor is great cannot complain! I would recommend!
Date published: 2022-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kingsford Charcoal I have always purchased Kingsford Charcoal because of the quality. I recently purchased a bag for a cookout and I am sorry to tell you the quality was poor. It started fine but when the charcoal started to get white on the edges the heat was very poor. Not good when you have friends over.
Date published: 2022-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells like summer We have used Kingsford as long as I can remember and it works great. We use other products with this charcoal to add flavor and help lighting and that is why I didn’t give it a 5 star review.
Date published: 2022-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hubby prefers it I don't do the grilling, I do the buying. These are really easy to light and my husband prefers this brand to pretty much all others
Date published: 2022-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good coal This is our go to brand for grilling. Burn evenly. Bag last us many grill meals. We love grilling all Summer long. Kingsford is the brand to go to for charcoal.
Date published: 2022-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Original and faithful! The only charcoal my fiancé will use in our charcoal grill. Very loyal, this burns well and evenly!
Date published: 2022-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still does job Great product I bought these but I had to buy lighter fluid to use them properly. I still have some left I think they burn well with other ones that are match light.
Date published: 2022-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable Charcoal for family bbqs When Kingsford Charcoal goes on sale, my family and I stock up to get ready for those summer barbecues that we know we will be having! They last a decent amount of time when burned so we don’t have to go through the entire bag all at once!
Date published: 2022-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Its been a while since Ive used charcoal but when I did I always choose Kingsford. The charcoal lasts a very long time and you dont need a whole lot. You cant beat a picnic grilling with Kingsford Charcoal.
Date published: 2022-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy This is by the one that seems to light very easily and also maintain the heat without burning through several coal lumps.
Date published: 2022-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay for low and slow Terrible for hot and fast. By the time the chimney is lit the charcoal at the bottom is already out. I only bought it because it was on sale and one cook in I already regret it. I'll use what I have, but I can't wait to go back to B&B.
Date published: 2022-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All time go to. Since I was little my dad has always used this brand of charcoal. So I obviously adapted to love it as much as he does and it’s my go to. I love grilling any time of the year and I love a good charcoal grill. This is a great choice!
Date published: 2022-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best This is the only brand of charcoal I will use. They last a long time and they are ready to grill on fairly quickly. Compared to other brands Kingsford is the best!
Date published: 2022-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Grilling!!! The best charcoal for grilling burgers, hotdogs, chicken etc. I think this brand is affordable and is available almost everywhere. I definitely recommend!
Date published: 2022-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford Charcoal We use this all of the time when grilling at our home. We have both a gas grill and a charcoal one. We prefer the charcoal grill with kingsford charcoal because we enjoy the flavor of the food when cooked on kings ford charcoal
Date published: 2022-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsport is King! Grilling is easy and enjoyable thanks to Kingsport! The charcoal briquettes are a good size and cook food well on the charcoal grill. The food comes out smoky and perfect thanks to Kingsport. The price is affordable and it lasts awhile too. I highly recommend this to others!
Date published: 2022-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charcoal Charcoal is the only brand I will buy and used for cooking out I don’t like other brand just this brand and how great it is
Date published: 2022-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Charcoal This is the best charcoal for BBQ’s. I always use this because it lights fast and stays lit. Food taste much better with Kingsford because it gives it the best flavor.
Date published: 2022-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best This is the only charcoal we use for bbq’s. And our family loves bbq’s. The fire burns really well without needing to reapply lighter fluid.
Date published: 2022-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best When we barbecue on the charcoal grill these are always what we purchase. They are reliable and good quality m. They are easy to light and burn evenly for the best bbq food!
Date published: 2022-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Lights quickly and stays lit. We use it in the smoker along w flavor wood chips. It’s the only brand we trust and will always buy this brand.
Date published: 2022-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best flavor ever! Nothing says summer like hot coals on the bbq grill. These are very reliable and don’t take a lot to light. Love grilling season!
Date published: 2022-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford charcoal We always use Kingsford, it’s easy to light, easy to use. Food tastes good. No funky charcoal aftertaste. Price is fair and I’d recommend
Date published: 2022-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like this charcoal Works way better than cheap dollarstore charcoal. Easier to light & stays burning longer. Use when grilling food in my charcoal grill.
Date published: 2022-04-10
  • y_2023, m_1, d_30, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_153, tr_3326
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 169.68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT