Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

Kingsford® Signature Flavors

Signature Flavors infuse your grilling experience with rich, full-bodied flavor and aroma that’s been known to cause some serious neighbor envy.

Read More

An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Original Charcoal

Since 1920, Kingsford® Original Charcoal has been the gold standard of grilling. Made in the USA* with 100% natural ingredients, including North American wood, Kingsford® Original gives BBQ lovers the smoky wood-fired flavor they crave. Our Original briquets are great for any grilling occasion. Whether you’re smoking a brisket, grilling up vegetables or firing up the grill at your next tailgate, Kingsford® Original delivers the best in authentic BBQ flavor. In fact, Kingsford® lights faster† than competitive brands, giving you the ultimate grilling experience — every time. Available in a variety of sizes, from 4-lb. to 2x20-lb. bags.

  • * With North American ingredients
  • † Compared to nationally available conventional charcoal in the U.S.A.


100% natural ingredients
Ready to cook on in 15 minutes
Long burn time*
*Compared to other charcoal brands.

Adventurous Eats


Take your taste buds outside their comfort zone with these unexpected twists on grilling favorites.


Our Reviews


4.7 /5
3469 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good coal This is our go to brand for grilling. Burn evenly. Bag last us many grill meals. We love grilling all Summer long. Kingsford is the brand to go to for charcoal.
Date published: 2022-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Original and faithful! The only charcoal my fiancé will use in our charcoal grill. Very loyal, this burns well and evenly!
Date published: 2022-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still does job Great product I bought these but I had to buy lighter fluid to use them properly. I still have some left I think they burn well with other ones that are match light.
Date published: 2022-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable Charcoal for family bbqs When Kingsford Charcoal goes on sale, my family and I stock up to get ready for those summer barbecues that we know we will be having! They last a decent amount of time when burned so we don’t have to go through the entire bag all at once!
Date published: 2022-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Its been a while since Ive used charcoal but when I did I always choose Kingsford. The charcoal lasts a very long time and you dont need a whole lot. You cant beat a picnic grilling with Kingsford Charcoal.
Date published: 2022-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy This is by the one that seems to light very easily and also maintain the heat without burning through several coal lumps.
Date published: 2022-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay for low and slow Terrible for hot and fast. By the time the chimney is lit the charcoal at the bottom is already out. I only bought it because it was on sale and one cook in I already regret it. I'll use what I have, but I can't wait to go back to B&B.
Date published: 2022-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All time go to. Since I was little my dad has always used this brand of charcoal. So I obviously adapted to love it as much as he does and it’s my go to. I love grilling any time of the year and I love a good charcoal grill. This is a great choice!
Date published: 2022-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best This is the only brand of charcoal I will use. They last a long time and they are ready to grill on fairly quickly. Compared to other brands Kingsford is the best!
Date published: 2022-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Grilling!!! The best charcoal for grilling burgers, hotdogs, chicken etc. I think this brand is affordable and is available almost everywhere. I definitely recommend!
Date published: 2022-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford Charcoal We use this all of the time when grilling at our home. We have both a gas grill and a charcoal one. We prefer the charcoal grill with kingsford charcoal because we enjoy the flavor of the food when cooked on kings ford charcoal
Date published: 2022-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsport is King! Grilling is easy and enjoyable thanks to Kingsport! The charcoal briquettes are a good size and cook food well on the charcoal grill. The food comes out smoky and perfect thanks to Kingsport. The price is affordable and it lasts awhile too. I highly recommend this to others!
Date published: 2022-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charcoal Charcoal is the only brand I will buy and used for cooking out I don’t like other brand just this brand and how great it is
Date published: 2022-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Charcoal This is the best charcoal for BBQ’s. I always use this because it lights fast and stays lit. Food taste much better with Kingsford because it gives it the best flavor.
Date published: 2022-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best This is the only charcoal we use for bbq’s. And our family loves bbq’s. The fire burns really well without needing to reapply lighter fluid.
Date published: 2022-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best When we barbecue on the charcoal grill these are always what we purchase. They are reliable and good quality m. They are easy to light and burn evenly for the best bbq food!
Date published: 2022-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Lights quickly and stays lit. We use it in the smoker along w flavor wood chips. It’s the only brand we trust and will always buy this brand.
Date published: 2022-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best flavor ever! Nothing says summer like hot coals on the bbq grill. These are very reliable and don’t take a lot to light. Love grilling season!
Date published: 2022-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford charcoal We always use Kingsford, it’s easy to light, easy to use. Food tastes good. No funky charcoal aftertaste. Price is fair and I’d recommend
Date published: 2022-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like this charcoal Works way better than cheap dollarstore charcoal. Easier to light & stays burning longer. Use when grilling food in my charcoal grill.
Date published: 2022-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Barbecue Must have This stuff is great and has been around forever. It’s probably the first thing you think of when you say barbecue. It’s the one I use and always have handy. When I smell the coals warming up you just can’t help but to know BBQ season has begun. The charcoals heat up perfectly and cook the food with a slight summer taste to it. You just know that spring has sprung when you smell Kingsford charcoals filling the air.
Date published: 2022-04-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horrible Been using Kingford for 30+ years last few are steady getting worse and worse. Low temps, partially pressed, cracking disaster. Probably bought the last 2 bags unless it improves back to the original like it says!
Date published: 2022-04-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short burn time and temperature I don't know what you did, but this is much different now. As soon as I picked the bag up, I noticed it was significantly lighter than expected. Then I noticed that the coals burned half the time I typically get and also didn't get as hot. I smoke my meats, slow and low. I had a hard time getting to 250F with indirect heat and then I had to add more coals approximately every hour. Normally I can get to temp quickly and it will burn for 2hrs before I have to add more coals.
Date published: 2022-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product The reviews that complain about the product not lighting, burning, whatever, are simple insane. I’ve been grilling and smoking with this stuff for a decade in my Weber kettle and Smoky Mountain Bullet smoker, including several overnight smokes. Lighting is a cinch with a chimney and the briquettes burn perfectly. Great product!
Date published: 2021-12-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rip off I went out of my way to buy Kingsford to upload the recipes for coupons on there promotion, took pictures, uploaded and Now there saying I only did one, I did at least 5. No I didn't keep the recipe or the pictures, why would I, got confirmation that the were good as soon as they verified them, Well lesson learned, wont buy again, wasted my time
Date published: 2021-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from match light wouldn't light we bought a new bag of Kingsford Match Light a week before Thanksgiving. We have a tradition of grilling our turkey, and have been using Kingsford for almost three decades. This year, however, it did not turn out well. I set up the grill, a Weber Kettle, as usual, put in the charcoal, AND IT WOULD NOT LIGHT. I finally had to resort to a sizeable dose of charcoal lighter fluid to start the coals, and even then, the coals did not get hot enough to adequately cook the turkey. I finally had to resort to finishing it on our gas grill, and still ended up with a delayed dinner. I don't know what happened to Kingsford, but will be looking for another alternative in the future.
Date published: 2021-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only This is the only brand charcoal I use. It is by far the best! I also love their seasonings for grilling! They’re sooo good! U must try!
Date published: 2021-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from for orchids I was wondering if you put any chemicals in your original formula. I need natural charcoal (which your packaging indicates ) for the purpose of putting in the bottom of pots for propagating orchids. I use your original product for grilling and am very satisfied but don't know if you have any chemicals in this variety.
Date published: 2021-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kingsford Original My most recent experiences with Kingsford have been awful. Not sure if the formulas has changed, but the coals don't last as long as they have in the past. In the past I was able to cook several rounds of steaks, but now I can barely make it thru a second round. Please go back to your original formula.
Date published: 2021-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute garbage I've been using this for decades, but no more. Despite using it in a charcoal chimney with newspapers -- as I have for many years -- it doesn't burn. I'm not sure if it's some kind of EPA restriction or what, but it no longer burns and is absolute garbage these days.
Date published: 2021-10-17
  • y_2022, m_10, d_1, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_153, tr_3316
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 217.01ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT