An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Professional Briquets

Exclusively at Costco

  • Previous
  • Next
  • 100% Natural Ingredients
  • Made in the USA with North American Ingredients
  • High Heat
  • Low Ash

Kingsford® Professional Briquets are made in the USA with North American ingredients, 100% natural and premium wood char to ensure professional-quality results. They provide a hotter burn* that’s perfect for searing flavor into any of your favorite meats. They also feature Kingsford’s lowest ash formula, making them great for ceramic grills and smokers. They’re ready to grill on in about 10 minutes, and deliver high heat and a consistent burn time every time. Available in 2x18-lb. bags.

* Compared to nationally available conventional charcoal
Pairs well with this recipe

ROSEMARY, FENNEL & CHILI FLAKE RUBBED BONE-IN PORK CHOP WITH GRILLED APPLES AND POTATOES

Comfort food never tasted so good — ideal for fall or any time of the year, enjoy this classic pork chop dinner with just the right amount of savory and sweet.

Get the Recipe
Learn

How to grill with charcoal

Everything you need to know about grilling with classic Kingsford® charcoal and charcoal grills.

Learn How
Reviews
4.6
558 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is by far This is by far the best charcoal I’ve ever used. It’s perfect for large gatherings burns for a long time
Date published: 2021-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite briquets for our Favorite briquets for our smoker! They beat up quickly and last for a long time! They can be pricy
Date published: 2021-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honestly, theirs nothing like Honestly, theirs nothing like watching my Boyfriend cook up a community barbeque with these bad boys. They burn. For a really long time and get the job done done right. They stay nice and hot and are juice resistant while cooking those specialty meals for us and the neighborhood.
Date published: 2021-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you Thank you for making this product great for using with Offset smoking. I mix it with the other products. And it really helps to maintain temperature better. Are use a combination of Kingsford regular charcoal and mix it with the professional. Also using natural would like cherry and hickory. I get a better controlled temperature happy I used it
Date published: 2021-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves grilling My family loves grilling and this product never let's us down. Have been using for years and will continue to use. Would definitely recommend to others!!!!!
Date published: 2021-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It’s what my dad It’s what my dad always told me to grab, I guess the tradition lives on in me. I honestly can’t tell the difference
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love a good I love a good old fashioned bbq using charcoal, it give any you are cooking a better flavor.
Date published: 2021-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic for our Great classic for our bbq. Easy start and good to add chips and other flavors to. Easy to find at most stores even in the dead of winter
Date published: 2021-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not 100% I am not 100% sure on what to say about charcoal, to be honest. This charcoal works well in our grill, I've never had a problem with it. Kingsford sells pretty well at the warehouse I work in so I'm assuming a lot of people also trust this brand. They have lots of different varieties and extra flavors if you prefer. It's also not expensive, which is nice!
Date published: 2021-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picked up a bag Picked up a bag of these from Costco for the latest barbecue and it was easy to turn on, lasted for a while and didn’t leave my food tasting like fuel. It is very affordable and the fact that it doesn’t burn fast makes it even better.
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slow burn It burns extra slow in my smoker. Less than a half of a bag burns for 6hours
Date published: 2021-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are my husband's These are my husband's favorites. We get them in two packs at Costco because we grill a lot, almost every week. These burn a long time, and they don't add any chemical flavor to the food. The price is right, and I don't think you can go wrong with this option for your grill.
Date published: 2021-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing tastes better than Nothing tastes better than a charcoal burger. It is the finest charcoal you can buy and it taste amazing with any meat.
Date published: 2021-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Low density, high ash Burns fast and hot, but also sooty and high ash. Label says “all natural”, but how much hardwood?
Date published: 2021-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this professional Absolutely love this professional line. The Briskets burn at a much more even temperature, and they burn slowly compared to the regular Kingsford charcoal briskets. This is the only line we buy now.
Date published: 2021-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is a classic This is a classic charcoal. If you want a nice burn and good char on your meats try this out. I would recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2021-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband uses these My husband uses these to make his souvlaki. They burn well and he seems happy with them.
Date published: 2021-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best charcoal ever! Once Best charcoal ever! Once it's ready to go, it stays evenly heated and cooks your food with no issues.
Date published: 2021-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ceramic Grill novice here I've been using my Vision Grill ceramic for a month now and after using the recommended lump charcoal every time I found this product at Costco and decided to give it a shot. I struggled with temp management in the past using the lump charcoal, temperature spikes and stalls had me constantly adjusting vents. This product seemed much easier to control a stable 225-230 smoke temp. Can't really comment on the flavor as it was mostly from wood chunks but I'm very happy with the stability and its an excellent value for 36 lbs under $20.
Date published: 2021-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kingsford is a great Kingsford is a great brand. Love the briquets from them. They’re big and light very easily. Never have any issues when using them.
Date published: 2021-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband is a My husband is a grill master and he swears by Kingsford brand. It works well and is affordable!
Date published: 2021-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite brand for My favorite brand for charcoal. Turns fire quick perfect any occasion with family and friends
Date published: 2021-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always buy a I always buy a seasons worth of Kingsford professional charcoal On memorial day weekend at Costco for a fraction of the price. Nothing lights better and last longer
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best These are the best briquets. They burn hot, last a very longtie and impart a nice smoky flavor to the grilled food.
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does the job It does the job if you want to fire the grill up during the summer for a quick family meal.
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These bouquets are the These bouquets are the only ones my family uses. They burn nice and slow abs give out food a great flavor
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional Charcoal Rocks I grill about three to four times a week for the past 40 years anyway. I have been using Competition Charcoal for teh past ten years and by far it is the best. It gets hot fast, is consistent, and it cooks the same every time. It has helped me imporve my grilling and smoking and is a great combo with my Weber series of grills. It cooks great in a 14" Smokey Joe all the way up to the 36" Weber Pro grill. I smoke with it using woods of my choice, and it will even make a cherry cobler in a cast iron skillet used as a campfire. The only issue I have is trying to source Competion Charcoal during the winter. I have to buy four or five double 18# packs to hold me over. Go get you some...you will never look back.
Date published: 2021-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing like an old skool bbq. This charcoal was pretty smoky but our filet mignon burgers tasted so good. The smell was also delightful, could really smell the wood added to these briquettes. Highly recommend and it’s also recommend for those who have ceramic bbq cookers
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Off taste Wanted to try Profeesional briquets but i am dissapointed.the tastse had a chemcal after taste with a lot of carbon or soot
Date published: 2020-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chemical after taste... I gave this several attempts and all three times it left a chemical after taste on my food. Used it for both smoking and direct fire BBQ. I'll be sticking with the original Kingsford briquets.
Date published: 2020-11-09
  • y_2024, m_6, d_13, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_32, tr_525
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_16, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 143.46ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.