An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Original Charcoal

(3963 Reviews)
  • Previous
  • Next
  • 100% natural ingredients
  • Ready to cook on in 15 minutes
  • Long burn time*

Since 1920, Kingsford® Original Charcoal has been the gold standard of grilling. Made in the USA with North American ingredients. With 100% natural ingredients, Kingsford® Original gives BBQ lovers the smoky wood-fired flavor they crave. Our Original briquets are great for any grilling occasion. Whether you’re smoking a brisket, grilling up vegetables or firing up the grill at your next tailgate, Kingsford® Original delivers the best in authentic BBQ flavor. In fact, Kingsford® lights faster than competitive brands, giving you the ultimate grilling experience — every time. Available in a variety of sizes, from 4-lb. to 2x20-lb. bags.

† Compared to nationally available conventional charcoal in the U.S.A.
  • *Compared to other charcoal brands.
Pairs well with this recipe

Grilled Ribeye

Grilling thick cut ribeye steaks to perfection is simple, fast and fit for every occasion.

Get the Recipe
Learn

How to Grill with Charcoal

Everything you need to know about grilling with classic Kingsford® charcoal and charcoal grills.

Learn How
Reviews
4.7
3963 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to find in store great for camping and bbq Staple to have for camping and bbqing. I think this brand has been my always and first choice when buying bc of the reputation and the ease of finding it in stores. Works great and I have no problem cooking my food with this charcoal.
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old faithful Old faithful. Ready to grab a bag and be by the pool as we speak. I have been using this brand of charcoal since I was a teen and it has never let me down. Burns great. Has great flavor and has a wonderful smell.
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best around I have been using Kingsford for over 30 years and it's still the best charcoal around. It has a consistent burn and gives a great bbq flavor. I'm old-school I don't like a gas grill I like charcoal. I use it in my smoker , it has a long burn time I will not use any other brand .
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An oldie but goodie This is an old favorite, isn't it. They last forever. I remember my parents using this brand when I was a wee one. Lighting is easy. Stays hot for a very long time. If spread right, you have heat everywhere.
Date published: 2024-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Charcoal Long lasting girll charcoal smoking meat Great for lengthy heat retention with minimal residual ash. I love everything about this charcoal except the fact that the price is getting very cost-ineffective. You can use this for smoking meat! It’s last longer than the other charcoal
Date published: 2024-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best charcoal to use! The burn time is good. The ash production is good, the heat distribution is good, and the lighting is good. I would highly recommend for your grilling needs. Also, it's not pricey at all.
Date published: 2024-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall it's a great product and worth the money. I feel as If Kingsford Original is a great product to use. It doesn't take long to hear you and get hot. It lasts for a good bit of time. Dissolves pretty good so there's no big mess to clean up after. It doesn't leave a stinky smell.
Date published: 2024-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The king of charcoal I haven’t tried many types of charcoal but this is the classic and can’t go wrong with the flavor also they burn for a long time and I always make burgers with the it
Date published: 2024-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only charcoal to use This is the only charcoal my husband uses for grilling! It has sustained value throughout the years and we won’t buy any other brand! Cant beat the price point either
Date published: 2024-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reliable product This is what my family use all the time. It works great for barbecuing and grilling. Give the food a Smokey flavor. Highly recommend. Light up pretty well. Burn time is great. Heat pretty well but be careful because the fire distribution can shift to certain side.
Date published: 2024-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A classic for a reason A classic that is a classic for a reason. Great product works quickly and efficiently. Would absolutely recommend to anyone needing charcoal.
Date published: 2024-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic BBQ Kingsford is the OG of bbq charcoal. The charcoal burns evenly, produces a great fire and a delicious taste on pretty much anything you can grill.
Date published: 2024-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The OG of charcoal Always our go to charcoal! My family has been using this for Over 40 Years! My Dad would only use this brand or he wouldn’t grill. Gives an amazing flavour to your food too!
Date published: 2024-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Burning The best charcoal around. It always starts so easily. It seems to burn forever. It is virtually order free. Long burning performance, the best around.
Date published: 2024-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love using Kingsford charcoal for our summer cook outs. Kingsford Original Charcoal is my favorite charcoal. With a little lighter fluid, the charcoal lights easily. Once started it burns easily for a long time. It heats evenly so your food cooks evenly. It does not a lot of ash at the bottom of your grill, so it is easy clean up. Kingsford sells a variety of products for cookout successes.
Date published: 2024-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best on the market Don’t settle for generic. These briquets light easily and take half the time to get white hot for cooking. They last for a long time, even enough to transfer from the grill to the fire pit.
Date published: 2024-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Burns hot and long Burns hot and long. Exactly what you're looking for in a good charcoal. I've always had good luck with this lighting well and it gives my food a great flavor.
Date published: 2024-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford kings in the name lol I at least have 3 bags of this Kingsford original charcoal bag at all times. You never really know when you need to put some heat down and get to cooking
Date published: 2024-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for summer grilling This is a great product for daily grilling in the summer. If you're just starting out, this is a great product to start with. I suggest getting a grilling chimney which helps get the coals red hot - and in turn will make for better steaks.
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality for cheap price Good cheap but quality charcoal. Bought this 2 bags for $9.99 at Costco, could bot ask for more. Its good as it should be, i like it because it does not have smell like others.
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and adds a nice taste to food. Can't go wrong with the original! Nothing beats a nice steak grilled on a charcoal grill with Kingsford. Easy to light with their fluid, burns nicely, food delicious!
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Kingsford original charcoal works amazing for grilling good quality easy to use very affordable,no heavy miss,I absolutely love this charcoal. 👍
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trusted charcoal brand! Easy to light! My used this when I was young and I use it now, never fails! Amazing burn time and ash is easy to remove. Heat distribution is great and cooks well.
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it My husband uses this when he grills !!This coal is easy to use it’s one of our favorite brands to use when grilling .Love the quality of it and it burns for hours .
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Price is Reasonable and Work Well I have an Acorn grill that I use for slow cooks. Normally I use lump charcoal for that. However, sometimes I just want a fast, hot fire for burgers and the like. These work great. I also use a quick start charcoal chimney to get things going quickly. Probably better for smoking, instead of searing.
Date published: 2024-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to use This is my go-to for grilling. It heats up quickly and evenly, giving my food that delicious smoky flavor every time. It's reliable and always gets the job done!
Date published: 2024-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very consistent and a good value. I use this charcoal when smoking meat for a long period of time. It is a great base to get the logs going and keep a consistent temperature. It burns for a good amount of time before needing to add additional heat.
Date published: 2024-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cookout staple Always easy to find in stores, works well for grills and seems to distribute heat, burns a long time I think, low ashes. Husband says it lights easy too because he’s in charge of that part of our cookouts!
Date published: 2024-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great every time Kingsford Original Charcoal is my favorite to use on our charcoal pit. It lights easy, burn time is never to quick and gives good flavor to our meals. Easy to find at the store too.
Date published: 2024-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Growing up my dad always opted to use this charcoal so I wholeheartedly believe that it’s one of the best on the market. I know this is a super popular brand when it comes to grilling so this is the one that I would definitely trust if I were to ever take up the hobby, I think that it made it really flavorful. Our burgers were always really good. I don’t really have anything to compare this to. I feel like the burn time was good, but this is the only brand that he would buy.
Date published: 2024-03-22
  • y_2024, m_4, d_11, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_153, tr_3790
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 206.13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.