An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Match Light® Charcoal

(1401 Reviews)
  • Previous
  • Next
  • No lighter fluid needed
  • Ready to cook on in 10 minutes

Kingsford® Match Light® Charcoal lights every time—guaranteed.* Because the briquets are infused with just the right amount of lighter fluid, they light instantly*, and stay lit with no lighter fluid needed. They light with just a match and are ready to cook on in 10 minutes — making them perfect for tailgates and other on-the-go events. And our Match Light® Charcoal is made with North American wood and the same quality ingredients as Kingsford® Original to deliver an authentic wood-fired BBQ flavor — instantly. Available in a variety of sizes, from 4-lb. to 2x16-lb. bags.

For best results, always close the bag tightly after use. Kingsford® Match Light® Charcoal should last 1–2 years in unopened bags stored in a cool, dry place. For best lighting results, partially used bags should be rolled tightly down to the level of the briquets in the bag and securely closed. Additionally, storing open or unopened bags in a cool, dry place will help maintain performance.

* When used as directed
Pairs well with this recipe

Grilled Ribeye

Grilling thick cut ribeye steaks to perfection is simple, fast and fit for every occasion.

Get the Recipe
Learn

HOW TO ARRANGE CHARCOAL BEFORE GRILLING

Discover the best ways to grill and smoke using Kingsford® Charcoal Briquets. We’ll show you how much charcoal you should be using to achieve the right grilling temperature, and techniques to use for different types of food. It’s easy — just follow along.

Learn How
Reviews
4.1
1401 Reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Match lite I’ve bought 2bags so far. I will never buy it again. I still need starter fluid. Total waste of time and money
Date published: 2023-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No light I have been using kingsford for as long as I can remember and allways great my wife bought two big bags match light but I had to buy lighter fuild they had no light to them please send me free bags
Date published: 2023-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it Love using this with our grill! Definitely does not take a long time for them to ignite.  Price is definitely worth the value! If you’re looking for some thing that is going to make your summer backyard party kick into high gear definitely use that in your grill!
Date published: 2023-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I have always used your charcoal when cooking. I would use it along with hickory. But recently I purchased 2 bags from Meijer and neither bag would light. The charcoal just sat there not igniting at all. Needless to say I purchased one of your competitors bags and Memoial Day was a success. I guess I'm using another brand from here on out.
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lights every time. Lasts long. I’ve been using it As long as you KEEP THE BAG CLOSED. It lights every time we only come over had a problem is when I forgot to close the bag. It is a good flavor and long lasting.
Date published: 2023-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Match Light is a rip off. Match Light is useless and expensive. I used up almost an entire lighter trying to get it to light. Finally used dead grass and twigs to get a fire going hot enough to light the briquets. Being lazy and gullible cost me $18. Never again
Date published: 2023-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kingsford Matchlight doesn’t light instantly Looking forward to having a cookout with the family. Decided to pay a little extra for the Kingsford insta light. Neither bag lit up. Very disappointed because I still had to go purchase lighter fluid and delay the party over an hour. I would have added the video of my multiple attempts, but I don’t want to create a YouTube channel just to show you the product doesn’t work. Quality control please!
Date published: 2023-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You all have made a bad batch of charcoal The last 2 bags of your product I have bought does not lite. Something has changed I have never had this problem.
Date published: 2023-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Charcoal !!!! Easy to use. Consistent quality. Always good results.
Date published: 2023-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford Match Light What I love about these charcoal is that you don't need lighter fluid to get these babies going. They are already drenched in fluid so just light and watch them do their thing. Great barbeques year round for me. Happy grilling.
Date published: 2022-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DOESN'T LIGHT! I tried everything including applying a lighter directly to the charcoal would not light. What a waste of $10. I'll stick with the store brand from now on.
Date published: 2022-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You had one job... The whole concept of match-light charcoal would mean that one doesn't have to use anything but a match to light it, right? Apparently not this stuff, where marketing must have gotten a bit too confident for the development team to back up that claim. A half pack of matches, a good 3 minutes of a hand lighter, and a few fistfuls of newspaper were wholly insufficient to generate even the slightest flame from these dudes. It should be noted, this was a just-opened package. Oh, you say the charcoal needs to be stored inside, per the useless YouTube tutorial? Great, except a) I'm not storing anything this supposedly flammable in my house, and b) that advice is nowhere on the bag. Prospective buyer, do yourself a favor: get a gas grill or a chimney and some real charcoal. If you're going to spend a half hour prepping a grill, may as well make it worth it.
Date published: 2022-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONLY CHARCOAL TO USE! This is how to start it, never have I had a problem starting this charcoal. Take a small mini propane tank (find at Walmart)with a torch that lights with a click of a button. Bam! that's it! Lights it and never have problems with it staying lit or going out!
Date published: 2022-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't light I just bought a bag of match light because the coals I started with by Kingsford didn't all burn and the meat I was cooking needed more time on the grill. I started with a clean grill and piled them, and went to light them and nothing happened. I tried many times if one lit it wouldn't spread, and would go out. Don't waste your money.
Date published: 2022-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Match Light is horrible charcoal Oh sure it lights without lighter fluid however they go out as soon as the lighter fluid is gone. They do not even burn all the way through. Very disappointing as this use to be a good product. I will never ever buy again.
Date published: 2022-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would not light Always use a chimney to light my charcoal. And tried match light, would not light. Had to spray it down with charcoal lighter to get it to ignite
Date published: 2022-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Bought 2 bags and they did not light up Had to make my burgers inside
Date published: 2022-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy light Loved how fast you could light the coals. Easy to use. Only use what you need or add what you one from the start, if you have to add more it will smell like lighter fluid for a bit. But still would use again
Date published: 2022-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I have been using match light for years never had a problem lighting it. It is great.
Date published: 2022-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute garbage How does this company continue to put this product in stores, so deceiving. Tried lighting it for an hour, used paper towel and everything else to ignite the coals. Absolute garbage. Will never purchase this product again
Date published: 2022-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I have three bags at my home. I kept buying giving it another chance. Again ruined our dinner. I’m so upset. Shame shame on them. I want my money back. Thanks for ruining three dinners. That almost 60 dollars I want my money!!!!!
Date published: 2022-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It won't light I used to use the regular charcoal, but decided to give this match light a try. It did not light at all. The bag has not been opened and it was stored in my cool garage. I stacked the briquettes and lit from the bottom corners. Absolutely nothing happened on either side. So of course I had no choice but to use lighter fluid. I hope my food doesnt taste like lighter fluid because if its already infused in the coal they should light right up and I should have to use lighter fluid. But nothing happened. I am highly disappointed!
Date published: 2022-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from would not light After years of using kingsford it has now become one of the worst "instant light" charcoals on the market. The past 4 bags purchased have never caught flame like they used to. EVERY SINGLE ONE has required the use of lighter fluid just like normal charcoal. I have to say the quality has definitely lost its touch over the past years. At one point I had even gone back to the grocery store for a store brand knock off that was way better. I kept going back to you, however you have continued to let me down. Its just another disappointment in what used to be a great brand. Sorry kingsford but you have now lost a loyal purchaser because of your product quality.
Date published: 2022-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not light Just bought a bag and can not get it to light. Even using lighter fluid it will not burn.
Date published: 2021-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have a charcoal We have a charcoal grill and this is the only kind of charcoal my husband will use. The instant light takes the struggle out of lighting the coals. It is a little bit more expensive than just regular coals but it’s worth the price.
Date published: 2021-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product I would never buy this product ever again, it flamed up to quickly only to put itself out. The result was half cooked chicken that had to go in the oven. What made matters worse is I bought the bag with 1/3 of the bag filled with charcoal.
Date published: 2021-11-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Briquette would not light! Have used them numerous times before with no issues…At our Lions Club BBQ Tuesday they would not light. After several attempts we had to use lighter fluid to start the briquets and then they burned away very quickly. The extra cost of the match light is not worth it.
Date published: 2021-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what it Used to be I have bought bags before they just don’t work like they used to very disappointing
Date published: 2021-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't light instantly I bought this a week ago. Isn't lighting instantly at all
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DIssapointed I used this product three times and when I went to use it for the fourth time(and I had a guest here) the product didnt light up, I had no lighter fluid(match light ) so I had to go and unwrap my large 6 person grill and fire that up to make dinner for two...whats up with this product ......
Date published: 2021-09-06
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_79, tr_1322
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_6, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 237.49ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.