An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Low & Slow Briquets

(64 Reviews)
  • Previous
  • Next
  • Great in Ceramic Grills & Smokers
  • Burns Longer than Kingsford® Original
  • Made in the USA with North American Ingredients
  • 100% Natural Ingredients

Your fuel for food that's worth the wait. Kingsford® Low and Slow charcoal briquets are made to power long smoke sessions and low heat cooks. Load up your fuel and let these slow burning briquets cook your brisket, ribs or any other dish, to tender perfection. Made in the USA with North American ingredients.

PAIRS WELL WITH THIS RECIPE

SMOKED PORK BUTT

Slow-cooked and steady wins the taste race with this easy and delicious smoked pork butt recipe.

Get the Recipe
LEARN

How to Smoke Meat on a Charcoal Grill

Traditional BBQ is smoking. The real deal is meat that’s cooked at low temperatures, over live coals, with hardwood added to create that delicious smoky taste. Whether you own a dedicated smoker or a standard kettle grill, it’s a technique anyone can master.

Learn How
Reviews
4.8
64 Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great option for a cookout that guarentees a solid result. Kingsford Low & Slow: Perfect for flavorful, even BBQ; reliable, easy to light, essential for consistent grilling. A go to for any slow cooker.
Date published: 2023-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting These are great for smoking meats. We used them to smoke a pork butt for pulled pork for a large party. I didn’t notice any flavor transfer in a good way. The briquets lasted a long time without us having to add more. Enjoyed this product!
Date published: 2023-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go to Charcoal These low and slow charcoal brisquets by Kingsford are a new staple for the grill. The aroma thar permeates smells do good. The flavor that developes into whatever you are cooking is mouth watering. These coals allows better control of the flame and temperature than that of a standard generic coal. Just wish it was self lighting.
Date published: 2023-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longer burn time! We used the Kingsford Low and Slow for our last barbecue of the season. There definitely is a difference between this and the original Kingsford. It stayed at a lower temp, and had about a 20% longer burn time. Pretty impressive! The final product was perfection. So happy to know Kingsford makes a product so perfect for smoking. We will most definitely buy again in the future.
Date published: 2023-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality, no flavor infusion We use these charcoals all the time. We often smoke meats that take hours to cook. I found the website helpful in giving tips on how much to use and how to arrange. Following these instructions make it easy to have a lower temperature last longer when cooking meats that needs to be slow cooked. We use a characoal started and then place in the kettled like grill. I found these easy to use. Worked well. They appeared to burn at the same rate making it even heat distribution. No unusual smells (like some with starts tend to have). Would definitely recommend these for anyone looking for a slower piece of meat they are trying to prepare.
Date published: 2023-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for slow cooking I tested this charcoal by making a pot roast in my grill & it came out perfect! I have since bought a bag & will continue to use this charcoal for all my slow cooking grill needs
Date published: 2023-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Low and slow I typically use lump charcoal and hardwood when I fire up the ol offset smoker but I gave this a shot this time. This charcoal lit fairly easily and burned at a consistent rate and temperature. It didn’t but quite as hot as lump charcoal so it took a bit more of adjusting the dampers, but it was an easy fix. Solid product and clean burn with a good final outcome on the smoker.
Date published: 2023-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brand Kingston Charcoal is a quality brand. These briskets work fast and cooks the food without leaving them burnt. I have used this brand for years and im ao glad the came out with new products an d flavor varieties of coal.
Date published: 2023-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Long last with interesting flavor The duration of the burn of the briquet coals was great! It kept its heat for much longer than traditional briquets to where I didn’t need to keep adding more. I will say, I’m not a huge fan of the flavor. It gave the meat I was cooking a very interesting flavor that I can’t quite describe. I’ll keep using the bag and might buy in the future but will be mixing in a better flavor wood or briquet.
Date published: 2023-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low and slow meets Kingsford’s Dependability Anyone who grills knows the Kingsford name due to their great reputation for charcoal. Now offering low and slow briquets for those long cooks, it’s another item that will be in our bbq essentials.
Date published: 2023-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Favorite brand Easy to light up and gave my food a good flavor! Just how its named low and slow. Its kept a steady temperature.for the foods that you want to cook for a few hours.
Date published: 2023-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic brand Kingsford is my go to brand for charcoal. I was excited to try the Kingsford low and slow briquets. I decided to make ribs this weekend. The turned out delicious. Slow cooked falling off the bone with a yummy smoked flavor.
Date published: 2023-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good burn This was very useful and lasted longer than normal charcoal. It burns clean and hot. It cooked our food evenly. Definitely will recommend to a friend.
Date published: 2023-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This charcoal made amazing ribs! I used this product to slow cook baby back and country ribs over a six hour cook. The ribs turned out tender and tasty. The charcoal was very easy to light. I used a chimney like the bag said to do. The charcoal burned exactly like they said it would when I set it up on my grill. The taste was amazing.
Date published: 2023-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would buy again. Burned nicely and the burn time was good. Would definitely purchase again. I always prefer this brand over others anyways. The quality is above others.
Date published: 2023-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Flavor Hubby loved using this charcoal. Said it was easy to light. Gave a good flavor to the food. We will definitely be using this charcoal again in the future.
Date published: 2023-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Low and slow equals a great smoke flavor This is indeed a low and slow . I loved that there was no smoke and gave a really nice smoke flavor to the food. The heat distribution was good and didn’t have to move around the food.
Date published: 2023-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for that brisket you been wanting to cook. I used this product to cook some brisket ot cooked it low and slow just like it says. If you have something like a shoulder or stuff this would be perfect
Date published: 2023-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great For Slow Cooking Meats The Kingsford Low and Slow Charcoal Briquets offer the opportunity to slow cook and smoke food, especially meat, with a more controlled temperature. The briquets are easy to light and sustain plus provide low consistent heat for your foods. Our food had amazing flavor and was cooked evenly. I highly recommend the Kingsford Low and Slow Charcoal Briquets.
Date published: 2023-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Charcoal! I got this Kingsford Low and Slow Charcoal Briquets in the mail and love them! I love to smoke things on the grill and this Charcoal works great for that. I highly recommend trying this Kingsford Charcoal.
Date published: 2023-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low and slow charcoal I received this product in the exchange of my honest feedback Charcoal briquettes I used these with a quick lite up charcoal It burns slowly and produces low heat for a longer time The smoky smell for the meat is so strong Where I love to cook outdoors ad we never waste ash we use this for making compost Thank you
Date published: 2023-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty good Incentivized. These worked pretty good. I used them to make ribs. The briquets allowed them to cook slow and the outcome was them being tender which my family loved. I also love that they’re produced in the USA and created with natural ingredients. I’d recommend these to a friend.
Date published: 2023-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Charcoal Briquets I generally use Kingsford normal charcoal for grilling meats and this was honestly very comparable. I didn't notice much of a difference in temperature change or how fast my steak took to cook. Overall still tasted great and cooked great though! The packaging was easy to use and good.
Date published: 2023-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good controlled cook Using a small weber grill, ive cooked a tri-tip, and some very thick cut pork chops. This charcoal stays low, doesnt flare up, and burns very evenly. Works well offset to one side or directly under food. Held a constant temp of about 300°f and burned for well over an hour. Overall a very good charcoal to use for lower temp roasting.and smoking on a grill.
Date published: 2023-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for slow cooking 🧑‍🍳 like a good barbecue lover. I wouldn't miss out on trying this incredible charcoal! With this new low and slow charcoal technique it couldn't make the barbecue better. 😍 this technique really works and leaves the flavor higher. I tested baking some chicken wings which takes more time! I really loved it. In my next barbecues I will only use this charcoal! THANK YOU
Date published: 2023-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holy smokes!! This product is great for smoking, you for sure get the smoky taste in the food. Great for big parties or a dinner for two. We cooked up some stuffed flank steaks and they were so juicy!
Date published: 2023-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for smoking food I received this product for free from Influenster and Kingsford in exchange for my honest review. I used this charcoal to smoke a sirloin roast for french dip sandwiches. I usually use lump charcoal instead of briskets but these briskets were able to perform just as good as the lump charcoal, which is very good for briskets. I was able to keep a low temperature for a long time without having to add more briskets to the grill. I would recomend these to anyone that is smoking food.
Date published: 2023-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for smoking and set it and forget it meats! These new Low and Slow charcoal briquettes are great for when you want natural charcoal flavor to your meats! They light up in about 10-15 minutes until they are nice and hot and ready to grill. I threw on a NY strip steak once it was at temperature and let the coals go to work. Overall the steak took about 30-40 minutes which you don’t have to worry about with propane. However you do get certain flavor notes and smokey flavor when using coals. These Low and Slow briquettes stay hot for a long time so you are able to continue to use the grill after your primary cook! I can’t wait to try out other meat using this specific line of charcoal!
Date published: 2023-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for smoking meat This came at the right time. Just picked up two racks for ribs for the weekend. . These briquettes arrived and that made me decide to smoke them instead of grilling or putting them in the oven. The briquettes were perfect and made the process easy
Date published: 2023-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for smoking meats! I was very excited to try the low and slow charcoal briquets from Kingsford. They burned incredibly slow and was great for smoking our brisket last Sunday for the eagles game. My boyfriend smokes a lot of meat and he was very pleased with this product.
Date published: 2023-10-16
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_21102, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 286.42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Background

Light your fire with all new Kingsford® products.

Explore our full range of charcoal, pellets and flavor boosters to take your grilling to the next level.