Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

Kingsford® Signature Flavors

Signature Flavors infuse your grilling experience with rich, full-bodied flavor and aroma that’s been known to cause some serious neighbor envy.

Read More

An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

100% Natural Hardwood Briquets

Looking for an all-natural grilling option with the same great BBQ taste you expect from Kingsford? Introducing 100% Natural Kingsford® 100% Natural Hardwood Briquets made from North American premium hardwood. These all-natural, clean-burning briquets offer authentic hardwood flavor with better consistency and control than lump briquets. With high heat and minimal ash, Kingsford® 100% Natural Hardwood Briquets are perfect for grilling or smoking and great for ceramic grills. Available in a 12-lb. bag.


100% natural ingredients
Long burn time*
*Compared to other charcoal brands.
Made in the USA
High heat

Adventurous Eats


Take your taste buds outside their comfort zone with these unexpected twists on grilling favorites.


Our Reviews


4.5 /5
62 Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from adds a perfect smokiness adds a perfect smokiness to my meat. so good. kind of hard to get started but worked great. i would make the chunks a bit bigger. it was very affordable for the amount we got. i highly recommend for extra flavor
Date published: 2021-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you like to If you like to grill or smoke meats then this is the product for you. Natural hardwood charcoal gives your meat great flavor without using processed briquettes that can contain extra chemicals.
Date published: 2021-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for smoking meat, Great for smoking meat, love the hardwood flavor! Pork shoulder is so good! This is the best brand I’ve used
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought two swans I bought two swans by accident and they make a charcoal I just didn't really care for this brand because it added a little bit of a flavor to my meat that I didn't care for and I know some people say hey this is delicious so maybe it just depends on who you are but for me personally I didn't care for it I prefer the original brand
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like to use I like to use the natural wood briquettes because they normally burn much better than regular charcoal and give food a much better flavor
Date published: 2021-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love grilled food I love grilled food it makes the food taste so much better. And Kingsford makes it so much easier. Plus you don't have to buy the lighter flood so I think it's cheaper this way. Plus I feel it's also safer and I feel it doesn't take as long to get the grill ready for grilling. I've tried the cheaper charcoal but nothing compares to Kingsford.
Date published: 2021-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These bricks are so These bricks are so great! When I go to the store my fiance always requests this brand. The different types of woods are great for different types of meats. These are adorable and worth the price. I recommend these to anyone who grills.
Date published: 2021-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please note this review Please note this review will be copy and pasted for each Kingsford review as I feel the same way about each of them: I wish I could say this is the best or greatest for more product related reasons, but frankly I’ve never tried another charcoal brand a day in my life... This brand is not “just a brand.” It’s a family heirloom or inheritance. There are memories before I had words associated with it— when I see Kingsford, I see uncles standing by the grill. I picture my aunts cooking sides in the kitchen. I think of running around the yard with siblings and cousins. Later in life, it’s the sound of glasses clinking CHEERS! Celebrating friends and their children. Celebrating achievements. Enjoying Summer. Making an excuse to cook for loved ones. And I’ve happened to luck out that it actually works and does what it says it will do.
Date published: 2021-02-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I picked these up I picked these up by accident, my husband was not a fan. He said they were hard to light and he didn't like the flavor that it added to the meat.
Date published: 2021-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for natural flavor, Great for natural flavor, looking lasting for any smoked meat on the grill, or in the stove in some water
Date published: 2021-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I haven’t used this I haven’t used this product it was something that called my attention. If I try it I would change the rating depending on how it worked for me
Date published: 2021-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These wood chips are These wood chips are great for smoking. I love cooking on the grill and this particular product just makes everything shine with flavor. They burn slow, they light easy, and they smoke deliciously. Definitely try these if you have a smoker. I'd also recommend them because they are cost effective.
Date published: 2021-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We use these in the smoker, they pack your meats with such great mesquite flavor. One of my top fav flavors for smoked food.
Date published: 2021-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product but I can't find it in California! I discovered this product while visiting in Utah. I did a few racks of ribs using it. Until then, I only used hardwood lump charcoal. I absolutely love having hardwood in briquette form! It makes it incredibly easy to set up for smoking or grilling as opposed to lump. My only issue is I can not seem to find it locally in Southern California. I would be using it now if I could!
Date published: 2020-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting I just finished a pork butt. I used 1 load of Hardwood charcoal. 8.5 hours later, my pork was finished at the coals still had time on them.
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistent and long lasting Used today for first time in my WSM to smoke some ribs. Was the most consistent smoke I’ve done on it - barely had to make tweaks over the 4 hours. At the end there was still probably half the chimney worth of briquettes in the smoker. I’ve best trying different charcoals, lump and briquette, and think I’m going to settle on these as my go-to. Very satisfied
Date published: 2020-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great temperature holding Been trying to find the right charcoal for what I need and the hickory briquettes were so nice! Lit quickly, burned evenly. And have a nice flavor and doesn’t compete with wood chunks
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is by far the best it's we don't use and starter fluid at all so there's no taste of fluids. It's the best
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great charcoal Great charcoal, just wish it was more readily available.
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from at first i didn't like the haedwood but i bought a new weber bbq pit and now i love the hardwood. my problem was my grill so if your grill or pit is not up to par you shouldn't leave a review
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work great in the monolith kamado Excellent for a quick grill like steak and burgers. A slight learning curve for the long smokes. But they are excellent and last long. I now like them better than lump.
Date published: 2020-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best !! This charcoal is the best it burns hotter, cleaner and produces hardly any Ash I only wish Walmart carried it I see a lot of people purchasing Kingsford original but Kingsford hardwood is King if they only knew!
Date published: 2020-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best you have on the market. Doesn't get any better
Date published: 2019-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heats up very fast I used these hardwood briquets to smoke a turkey with pean wood chunks. The charcoal light up fast and it produces a very good flavor to any type of food.
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to light I went from Kingsford original charcoal to the natural wood .food comes out better tasting .
Date published: 2019-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Very Best I've used regular briquettes and lump charcoal. Kingsford hardwood briquettes hands down are the very best. They burn long and hot. Consequently I used less briquettes. Which also makes them a good value.
Date published: 2019-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Burns clean, high heat, l like the product. Easy to use.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Burns Clean & Hot!!! Picked up a bag of this Hardwood Charcoal last week, just tried it tonight.....noticeably cleaner burn, HOT, Hot, Hot, once it got rolling in the chimney starter.....gotta use LESS briquets than I normally do! It even imparts a slight wood smoked taste to the Ribeyes.....the Wife and Daughter LOVED it! I'll be buying more of this, to stockpile for winter!
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardwood Briquets I have been using Kingsford for over 50 years.This is another great product.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good I brought this the other day which was hard to fine, used in my big green egg and it was the worst hard wood I ever used. The smell was trouble and did heat that fast. I have always used Kingsford but will never use this again.
Date published: 2019-06-03
  • y_2022, m_11, d_30, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_14, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 121.21ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT