Kingsford® Preserve the Pit

Kingsford remains committed to celebrating Black barbecue culture by launching the second year of Preserve the Pit and doubling the investment in aspiring barbecue professionals.

Read More

Kingsford® Signature Flavors

Signature Flavors infuse your grilling experience with rich, full-bodied flavor and aroma that’s been known to cause some serious neighbor envy.

Read More

An American Story

The history of grilling at Kingsford is a classic American story. It all started in 1919 when Edward G. Kingsford helped Henry Ford procure a stretch of timberland to supply wood for his auto plants.

Read More

American Pride

An American-made company founded over 100 years ago, Kingsford has a lot to be proud of. Our employees have been continuing the family tradition in backyards across the nation.

Read More
Kingsford®

Charcoal with Applewood

Looking to step up your BBQ’s flavor? Kingsford® Charcoal with Applewood adds a sweet and fruity wood flavor to all of your favorite foods. Made with 100% natural ingredients and North American wood, Kingsford® Charcoal with Applewood is perfect for elevating the natural flavors of poultry and pork. And, it lights fast, is ready to cook on in about 15 minutes and burns long. Available in 8-lb. and 16-lb. bags.


100% natural ingredients
Ready to cook on in 15 minutes
Long burn time*
*Compared to other charcoal brands.

Adventurous Eats


Take your taste buds outside their comfort zone with these unexpected twists on grilling favorites.


Our Reviews


4.6 /5
113 Reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I have never been more disappointed in Kingford as I'm now. The apple briquettes crumble and won't get hot. With the lid open on the grill on a windy day the still won't get hot. It's been 45 minutes grilling hamburgers and hasn't even been able to flip the meat once. Had to drive back to the store and buy a different brand. Now problems Now with crumbling and getting these hot SUPER DISAPPOINTED
Date published: 2021-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Possibly a bad batch? Didn't work for me I bought a couple bags of this charcoal and they just didn't seem like good quality charcoal. They took forever to light, once lit they took way longer than 15 minutes to be ready for cooking, they didn't burn very hot and didn't last long at all. I'm not sure if I just got a bad batch or something? I have always used kingsford without issue but this is my first time trying the applewood variety. I was disappointed this time.
Date published: 2021-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really loved this I really loved this charcoal, and I'm Really disappointed I can't seem to find it Anywhere now. It has such great flavor, and I really enjoyed my food. I would Very Much recommend this kind! It's Fantastic!!! Great flavor, great smoke, perfect taste, good food!
Date published: 2021-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for smoking any Perfect for smoking any of your favorite meats. The smell could be better. I definitely would say I would recommend this for anybody that loves to grill! It’s very affordable!
Date published: 2021-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought these for my Bought these for my husband to use the last time he grilled. He made burgers and chicken and they were so good. These made a difference from the regular ones he uses. I will get these from now on.
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from too fast too hot.... Those of us the remember the oversized Sam's charcoal that burned cooler and way longer that was perfect for slow cooking miss those days and wish kingsford would get these heads out of the make lots of money be selling little slotted low life briquettes and a lease offer and much larger briquette that burns cooler and lasts for many hours.
Date published: 2021-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our family Bar B Our family Bar B Q’s a lot. We love the taste of the Applewood Charcoal. Gives the meat a nice flavor.
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The flavor is nice The flavor is nice on meat. It makes your BBQ have a sweet Applewood flavor. It's a sad day when you can't find these.
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This leaves meat with This leaves meat with a rich savory sweet smoke that is great with poultry and pork! We use this mostly for those two meats! You don’t taste appple but you do taste a sweetness in the smoke that isn’t there with other charcoals.
Date published: 2021-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband is the My husband is the grill master of our house! He loves to bbq and I love the applewood charcoal and the great taste it provides!
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have made chicken, burgers, Have made chicken, burgers, brisket and pizzas with use of this product, all which have had wonderful results. Flavor is delicious, yet not overpowering.
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We use this in We use this in our charcoal grill to cook up some vegan burgers, sausages, and grilled veggies. It gives a beautiful smoked flavor to the vegan food and adds great depth to it. I bought mine from Walmart.
Date published: 2021-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for steaks on Awesome for steaks on the grill! Have also tried with chicken and it makes an added flavor with Italian chicken.
Date published: 2021-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn’t lie on the Doesn’t lie on the brand definitely adds and applewood smoke taste and flavor to the meats and fish I cook on the grill. I love it. I bought it but mistake and was soooo glad I did. I made this my go to charcoal for grilling.
Date published: 2021-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorite One of my favorite flavors and my husband buys it on an occasion. He says he likes to use it, the value is there.
Date published: 2021-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kingsford makes me feel Kingsford makes me feel like a king Kingsford makes me feel like a king..... Just kidding. Its good stuff
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this applewood I loved this applewood charcoal. The original charcoal is amazing so to be able to ha e that applewood flavor makes it even better.
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I really only use I really only use it while I am camping but it does a good job and imparts a bit of the Smokey flavor into the meat.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kings Ford is the Kings Ford is the King when it comes to BBQ charcoal for me, have used them for ever. Tried this last summer and the applewood really does give an interesting flavor to the grilled meat! Just wish the coals would burn longer..
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you are going If you are going to bbq on the grill, this is a great buy. It gives the meat a great flavor in addition to whatever seasoning you use. Or don't use even!
Date published: 2021-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got this once I got this once by accident and now we always want it. You can smell the apple in it. #greatoutdoors love apples
Date published: 2021-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please note this review Please note this review will be copy and pasted for each Kingsford review as I feel the same way about each of them: I wish I could say this is the best or greatest for more product related reasons, but frankly I’ve never tried another charcoal brand a day in my life... This brand is not “just a brand.” It’s a family heirloom or inheritance. There are memories before I had words associated with it— when I see Kingsford, I see uncles standing by the grill. I picture my aunts cooking sides in the kitchen. I think of running around the yard with siblings and cousins. Later in life, it’s the sound of glasses clinking CHEERS! Celebrating friends and their children. Celebrating achievements. Enjoying Summer. Making an excuse to cook for loved ones. And I’ve happened to luck out that it actually works and does what it says it will do.
Date published: 2021-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charcoal is super convenient Charcoal is super convenient for grilling. Adds a great flavor to the food and smells and taste delicious!
Date published: 2021-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leaves an incredible taste Leaves an incredible taste and the food in the smell definitely will buy over and over again
Date published: 2021-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The flavor these give The flavor these give anything grilled is to die for. My husband always cooks with these and everyone always compliments his cooking.
Date published: 2021-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best flavor I've been using this for approximately 3 year's. I will never use any other brand.
Date published: 2021-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brand new to Smoker Just put together my new offset smoker. Bought a bag of this Kingsford. Hadn't ever seen it before. I am seasoning my smoker with a load of coals. I was impatient on getting them started but finally got some glowing and placed them on top of my unburned ones and let it go. It took a while to get heating up. Then again it is 32° outside and snowing. After an hour or so the temp started rising nicely. After two hours I just went out and checked it. Holding steady at around 250° a great smell coming out of the chimney. I checked the coal box and it had the prettiest pile of orange glowing coals you could ask for. Very happy with these and tomorrow I start the meat smoking thinking some pork ribs!
Date published: 2021-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We use this particular charcoal to grill chicken, ham and all of our fish. It adds a slightly sweet, smoky flavor!
Date published: 2021-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You really can't go wrong with kingsford when it comes to grilling. The apple wood charcoal gives anything you grill cover it an amazing flavor.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No after taste of charcoal burns well and at its pace. Find it at a fair price even at Walmart. I use it all the time when grilling outdoors.
Date published: 2021-01-07
  • y_2022, m_12, d_6, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_KF_PRD_15, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grillingcom
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 213.32ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT